Connect with us

Super League

Warrington v Wigan: 21-man squads, injury update and TV details

Warrington and Wigan have both announced their 21-man squads for Wednesday night’s round 16 clash at the Halliwell Jones Stadium (KO 7:45pm).

The Wolves are finally back in action after having two games postponed due to a COVID-19 outbreak within their camp.

Before that, they claimed four straight wins, including a 40-14 victory over the Warriors, before being humbled by a 22-16 loss to Leeds at the start of July.

Wigan, meanwhile, have shrugged off the poor form which saw them lose five consecutive matches, with wins over Huddersfield twice and Wakefield in their last three.

This will, however, be their toughest test since the defeat to St Helens three and a half weeks ago.

The game will be available to watch live on Sky Sports Arena, with coverage starting from 7:30pm.

Warrington Wolves

Impressive young forward Eribe Doro is back in contention for the Wolves, with Rob Butler, who has joined Leigh on loan, and Josh Charnley dropping out. Greg Inglis’ has played his last game for the club after retiring at the start of this month, while there is still no place for new signing George Williams. Gareth Widdop (ankle) and Matty Ashton (ankle) are still out injured.

21-man squad: 1 Stefan Ratchford, 2 Tom Lineham, 4 Toby King, 6 Blake Austin, 8 Chris Hill, 9 Daryl Clark, 10 Mike Cooper, 11 Ben Currie, 12 Jack Hughes, 13 Joe Philbin, 14 Jason Clark, 15 Matt Davis, 16 Danny Walker, 18 Jake Mamo, 19 Rob Mulhern, 20 Sitaleki Akauola, 23 Josh Thewlis, 25 Eribe Doro, 26 Ellis Longstaff, 27 Connor Wrench.

Wigan Warriors

John Bateman returns after several weeks out with an ankle injury, while Liam Byrne has overcome a rib problem that saw him miss out last week. Youngsters James McDonnell and Umyla Hanley drop out, while the only other change sees Amir Bourouh replace Brad O’Neill. Dom Manfredi (knee), Bevan French (hamstring), Zak Hardaker (neck), Jai Field (hamstring) and Morgan Smithies (ankle) remain unavailable.

21-man squad: 4 Oliver Gildart, 5 Liam Marshall, 7 Thomas Leuluai, 8 Brad Singleton, 9 Sam Powell, 10 Joe Bullock, 11 Willie Isa, 12 Liam Farrell, 13 John Bateman, 14 Ollie Partington, 17 Tony Clubb, 19 Liam Byrne, 20 Harry Smith, 21 Ethan Havard, 22 Jake Bibby, 23 Mitch Clark, 25 Joe Shorrocks, 27 Kai Pearce-Paul, 28 Sam Halsall, 31 Jackson Hastings, 33 Amir Bourouh.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Must See

More in Super League