Warrington v Salford: 21-man squads and injury debate

As the penultimate round of fixtures hots up, we’re set to be treated to a fiery Lancashire derby as the third-placed Warrington Wolves butt heads with rivals Salford.

The Wolves wrapped up third place with a win over Wigan in Newcastle last week but can’t simply put the cue on the rack as they prepare for the play-offs. Instead, the Wire need to continue to build momentum week on week to enhance their chances of Super League glory and a win here would certainly do that.

As for Salford, despite their defeat to Castleford they showed encouraging signs against the Tigers building off their impressive win against Hull FC. I fancy they’ll again throw caution to the win and come up with an exciting attacking performance against the Wolves.

The game kicks off at 15:00.


Warrington are without two of their first-choice front row. Both Daryl Clark and Mike Cooper, who claimed the Man of the Match in the over Wigan, are unavailable meaning Steve Price will again have to place the focus on youngsters like Eribe Doro as well as Tom Inman and Tom Whitehead who have both come into the squad.

21-man squad: 1 Stefan Ratchford, 4 Toby King, 5 Josh Charnley, 6 Blake Austin, 7 Gareth Widdop, 8 Chris Hill, 11 Ben Currie, 12 Jack Hughes, 14 Jason Clark, 15 Matt Davis, 17 Matty Ashton, 18 Jake Mamo, 19 Rob Mulhern, 20 Sitaleki Akauola, 23 Josh Thewlis, 25 Eribe Doro, 26 Ellis Longstaff, 27 Connor Wrench, 31 George Williams, Tom Inman, Tom Whitehead.


The Red Devils have made a pair of changes to their 21-man squad. Ata Hingano has dropped out despite featuring against Castleford on Saturday. The impressive Harvet Livett also misses out after pulling out of the defeat to Castleford at the last minute through injury. However, Salford will be happy to welcome back Elijah Taylor to the squad as well as Jack Ormondroyd who will provide them some much needed size.

21-man squad: 1 Morgan Escare, 2 Ken Sio, 4 Krisnan Inu, 5 Joe Burgess, 6 Tui Lolohea, 7 Kevin Brown, 9 Andy Ackers, 11 Ryan Lannon, 13 Elijah Taylor, 14 Danny Addy, 15 Oliver Roberts, 16 Greg Burke, 17 Josh Johnson, 18 Chris Atkin, 22 Rhys Williams, 23 Dan Sarginson, 24 Matt Costello, 25 Jack Ormondroyd, 27 Sam Luckley, 34 Nathan Roebuck, 35 Ellis Robson.

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments