Wales name NRL trio in World Cup squad

John Kear has named NRL youngsters Caleb Aekins, Daniel Brown and Josh Ralph in Wales 38-man train-on squad for the Rugby League World Cup.

All three currently play in the Holden Cup (Under 20s) and have been given the opportunity to showcase their talents ahead of the tournament.

Kear has also called up St Helens pair Calvin Wellington, Elliot Jenkins and Coventry Bears’ back Zak Williams for the first time.

Ben Flower, Rhys Evans, Ben Evans and Larne Patrick have been named for the first time since the last World Cup in 2013.

“As this is a train-on squad, it doesn’t exclude other players from joining the squad at a later date,” said Wales head coach John Kear.

“From speaking to the players, I know that they were disappointed with the 2013 World Cup and they see this tournament as a way of rectifying that. At this World Cup, they can set the standard.

“As a group, they really enjoy each other’s company and they will be confident.

“It will be a trip to savour for the players, the support staff and everybody involved.

“With going to places like Papua New Guinea, Townsville and Perth, it’s going to be a real adventure. It will be one that we can enjoy, but we will also have to work hard.”

Wales train on squad:  Larne Patrick (Castleford Tigers), Zak Williams (Coventry Bears), Courtney Davies, Steve Parry, Lewis Reece (all Gloucestershire All Golds), Danny Ansell (Hunslet), Sam Hopkins (Leigh Centurions), Michael Channing, Ben Evans, Dalton Grant, Elliot Kear, Rhys Williams (all London Broncos), Josh Ralph (Newcastle Knights), Matty Barron (Newcastle Thunder), Joe Burke (Oldham), Caleb Aekins, Daniel Brown (both Penrith Panthers), Ant Walker (Rochdale Hornets), Craig Kopczak (Salford Red Devils), Matty Fozard (Sheffield Eagles), Morgan Evans, Connor Farrer, Andrew Gay, Christiaan Roets (all South Wales Ironmen), Regan Grace, Elliot Jenkins, Morgan Knowles, Ben Morris, Calvin Wellington (all St Helens), Rhodri Lloyd (Swinton Lions), Jake Emmitt, Dan Fleming (both Toronto Wolfpack), Rhys Evans (Warrington Wolves), Ollie Olds (West Brisbane Panthers), Gil Dudson, Lloyd White (both Widnes Vikings), Ben Flower (Wigan Warriors), Phil Joseph (Workington Town).

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments