Connect with us

Super League

Wakefield v Leeds: 21-man squads, injury update and TV details

Wakefield and Leeds have both announced their 21-man squads for Saturday afternoon’s Round One clash at Headingley Stadium (KO 3:00pm).

Trinity will be hoping for a much better season than 2020, after finishing second-last and enduring a 10-game losing run mid-way through the year.

Samoan international Mason Lino has been brought in by Chris Chester in the aim of bringing more excitement to their attack.

The Rhinos, meanwhile, will have their eyes firmly on the prize after winning the Challenge Cup but falling just short in the Super League play-offs.

Focus will be on New Zealand international Zane Tetevano, who has joined from Penrith Panthers, and Kyle Eastmond, who returns to 13-a-side game after a 10-year stint in rugby union.

The game will be available to watch on Sky Sports Arena, with coverage starting from 2:30pm.

Wakefield Trinity

There’s no Max Jowitt for Trinity, with the fullback missing out with an ankle injury, while Kyle Wood and Eddie Battye are unavailable due to calf problems. Mason Lino has overcome a rib issue picked up in the friendly against Dewsbury and will likely line up alongside Jacob Miller in the halves. Jay Pitts and Ryan Hampshire also miss out through injury.

21-man squad: 2 Tom Johnstone, 3 Bill Tupou, 4 Reece Lyne, 5 Liam Kay, 6 Jacob Miller, 7 Mason Lino, 8 David Fifita, 10 Tinirau Arona, 11 Matty Ashurst, 12 Kelepi Tanginoa, 13 Joe Westerman, 16 James Batchelor, 17 Chris Green, 18 Innes Senior, 19 Jordy Crowther, 20 Joe Arundel, 21 Alex Walker, 22 Adam Tangata, 23 Josh Wood, 25 Brad Walker, 26 Yusuf Aydin.

Leeds Rhinos

The Rhinos are without several stars due to injury, including Jack Walker (foot), Harry Newman (leg), Konrad Hurrell (calf), Ash Handley (knee), Rob Lui (quad), Tom Holroyd (knee) and Callum McLelland (groin). Captain Luke Gale makes the squad after recovering from a pectoral tear sustained in pre-season, while new signings Zane Tetevano, King Vuniyayawa and Kyle Eastmond are in line to debut. Alex Sutcliffe is also included after recovering from shoulder surgery.

21-man squad: 2 Tom Briscoe, 7 Luke Gale, 8 Mikolaj Oledzki, 9 Kruise Leeming, 10 Matt Prior, 11 Alex Mellor, 12 Rhyse Martin, 13 Zane Tetevano, 14 Brad Dwyer, 15 Liam Sutcliffe, 16 Richie Myler, 17 Cameron Smith, 19 King Vuniyayawa, 20 Bodene Thompson, 21 Alex Sutcliffe, 22 Sam Walters, 24 Luke Briscoe, 25 James Donaldson, 26 Jarrod O’Connor, 27 Jack Broadbent, 33 Kyle Eastmond.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Must See

More in Super League