Wakefield Trinity star signing still without squad number as they confirm first 13

Wakefield Trinity have confirmed their the first 13 squad numbers for the 2023 season and none of their new signings feature.

Trinity have today confirmed that former Leeds Rhinos and Hull FC backrow Jay Pitts will keep the number 13 shirt ahead of new star signing Kevin Proctor formerly of Melbourne Storm and Gold Coast Titans.

This comes after Matty Ashurst and Kelepi Tanginoa kept 11 and 12.

Trinity had already announced their entire first choice back division and have now unveiled their first choice pack.

Trinity will have Max Jowitt wearing number one, Jorge Taufua at two with Tom Lineham beating star youngster Lewis Murphy to the number five shirt.

Ex-Leeds Rhinos man Corey Hall takes three with Reece Lyne, the former Hull FC centre who is celebrating a testimonial, keeps four with new signing Samisoni Langi overlooked.

Speaking of overlooking new signings, Morgan Smith missed out on six with former Huddersfield Giants halfback Lee Gaskell taking on six having worn 17 last year.

Mason Lino has kept seven whilst Eddie Battye was yesterday confirmed as keeping the number eight also ahead of Atoni.

Battye took on the eight shirt left by David Fifita who in his last season moved back to 35 last year.

Battye will now keep it again in 2023 as Atoni’s shirt number remains unclear with Jai Whitbread taking Tinirau Arona’s number 10 in 2023.

Liam Hood has kept nine.

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments