Wakefield Trinity star beats huge signing to squad number

Wakefield Trinity have been revealing their 2023 squad numbers day by day and today have revealed their number 12 for the 2023 season.

After confirming that skipper Matty Ashurst, as the former St Helens man takes on the role for the first time, will keep 11 for 2023, star forward Kelepi Tanginoa will keep the number 12 shirt in 2023.

He keeps it ahead of star signing and former Melbourne Storm, Gold Coast Titans and New Zealand star Kevin Proctor.

Trinity had already announced their entire first choice back division and are now moving on to the unveiling of their first choice pack.

Trinity will have Max Jowitt wearing number one, Jorge Taufua at two with Tom Lineham beating star youngster Lewis Murphy to the number five shirt.

Ex-Leeds Rhinos man Corey Hall takes three with Reece Lyne, the former Hull FC centre who is celebrating a testimonial, keeps four with new signing Samisoni Langi overlooked.

Speaking of overlooking new signings, Morgan Smith missed out on six with former Huddersfield Giants halfback Lee Gaskell taking on six having worn 17 last year.

Mason Lino has kept seven whilst Eddie Battye was yesterday confirmed as keeping the number eight also ahead of Atoni.

Battye took on the eight shirt left by David Fifita who in his last season moved back to 35 last year.

Battye will now keep it again in 2023 as Atoni’s shirt number remains unclear with Jai Whitbread taking Tinirau Arona’s number 10 in 2023.

That is true of all Wakefield’s signings with Kevin Proctor no closer to discovering his shirt number though he could take 13 tomorrow.

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments