Connect with us

Super League

Two former Super League stars inducted into Hull FC’s Hall of Fame

Hull FC icons Jack Harrison VC MC, Arthur Bunting, Kirk Yeaman, and Gareth Ellis have been officially inducted into the Hull FC Hall of Fame.

The quartet, all of whom have made significant and exceptional contributions to Hull FC during their respective spells at the club, were inducted in a special ceremony at the city’s Bonus Arena as part of the club’s Season Launch Dinner.

Yeaman and Ellis were present to accept their induction by current Hall of Fame member Lee Crooks, with stars of Hull FC past and present in attendance alongside club staff, supporters, and club partners to witness the memorable night.

Harrison’s induction was posthumously accepted by Lieutenant Colonel David Groce MBE, while Bunting’s induction was accepted by the former player and Chair of the Hull FC Ex-Players Association, Keith Tindall, who played under Bunting, reading a message on behalf of Arthur’s son, Paul.

Gareth Ellis is regarded as one of the club’s most successful captains of all-time, famously leading the Black & Whites to their back-to-back Challenge Cup Final victories in 2016 and 2017.

Hometown boy and one-club man Kirk Yeaman similarly is regarded as one of the club’s best players of the modern era – FC’s second highest appearance maker of the Super League era, his 17 year spell with the club saw him claim Challenge Cup triumphs in both 2005 and 2016, as well as multiple personal honours and records along the way.

Arthur Bunting has become the first coach to ever be named in the club’s Hall of Fame, having led the Airlie Birds through their greatest era during the late 1970s and 1980s. From the Invincibles season in 1978/79 to the Challenge Cup Final triumph in 1982, he presided over a spell of unprecedented success for Hull.

Over 100 years since his death, war hero Jack Harrison VC MC is the oldest inductee having made his club debut in 1912. A remarkable winger, and scorer of the winning try in the 1914 Challenge Cup Final, he was posthumously awarded the Victoria Cross having sacrificed himself to save his platoon in Northern France in the First World War.

The club’s Hall of Fame was founded in 1992, with the first induction ceremony taking place in the same year – icons including Johnny Whiteley, Clive Sullivan and David Topliss were included in the initial induction of six players.

Further induction ceremonies followed in 1998, 2013, and 2015, with Richard Horne being the latest name to be added ahead of this evening’s event.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Must See

More in Super League