Two former England captains on four-man strong Golden Boot panel

Four legends of rugby league have been chosen to select this year’s Golden Boot winner.

The award, which has been controversially won in the last decade by the likes of Kevin Sinfield and Tommy Makinson, is given to the best international player of the year.

Recognised by the International Rugby League governing body, a four-man strong panel has been assembled and it includes two former England captains in the shape of James Graham and Adrian Morley.

Australian legend Cameron Smith and New Zealand great Ruben Wiki make up the rest of a star-studded panel, with this year’s awards night taking place at the Manchester Midland Hotel on Tuesday (15th November) prior to the World Cup final at Old Trafford.

The night will also see the Women’s and Wheelchair Golden Boot awards handed out too, with Morley, RFL executive Karen Moorhouse and wheelchair rugby league icon Malcolm Kielty MBE handing out the awards.

It will be the first time a Golden Boot award has been presented since 2019, when Kiwi fullback Roger Tuivasa-Sheck claimed the prize alongside Jillaroo Jess Sergis and English wheelchair star Jack Brown.

Global challenges and a lack of international action has caused the two-year absense of the award, which has been dominated over the years by Australian players and was won three times by Johnathan Thurston between 2011 and 2015.

Journalists and broadcasters from England and Australia have already compiled the shortlist for the panel to assess next week, having put forward a list of names collectively following the conclusion of the World Cup groups stages.

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments