Tony Smith names first Hull FC squad with NRL stars to debut

Tony Smith has named his first squad as head coach of Hull FC, having left KR and crossed the city for the 2023 season.

The veteran head coach has named a squad that is full of new signings with both the Australian stars that they’ve added to their spine featuring.

FC will plauy Sheffield Eagles in a triple-header with the wheelchair and women’s matches preceding the men who kick off at 3pm.

Tex Hoy will debut at full-back whilst Jake Clifford features in the seven shirt, however he won’t have his playing partner Jake Trueman who was also a new face at the KCOM with Trueman carrying an injury.

Newly named captain, Carlos Tuimavave, doesn’t feature so it’s unclear who will skipper the side although it could be either veteran Danny Houghton and Chris Satae who both feature.

Joe Cator makes a welcome return from injury for the Airlie Birds whilst the man who swept up at the end-of-season awards, Brad Fash, also features.

New signing from Leeds Rhinos, Brad Dwyer features, but his counterpart Liam Sutcliffe does not.

The squad was announced via the team’s Twitter.

The side also released a statement to their website detailing the team.

“Smith has named a strong squad for the fixture, with three of his five new signings set to feature in the match – Tex Hoy, Jake Clifford and Brad Dwyer could all play.

“Fellow new recruit Liam Sutcliffe is rested having endured an extended season with his former club Leeds, alongside Ligi Sao who featured for Samoa up until and including the Rugby League World Cup Final in November.

“Newly appointed captain Carlos Tuimavave (Achilles) continues his recovery from injury sustained during the 2022 campaign, alongside Andre Savelio (ACL), Kane Evans (knee), Jack Brown (shoulder), Charlie Severs (shoulder) and Kye Armstrong (shoulder); new signing Jake Trueman (ACL) similarly misses out.

“Meanwhile, Connor Wynne (ankle) and Jamie Shaul (calf) are unavailable having sustained knocks during pre-season training.”

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments