Three England players & Leigh Leopards star vying to emulate Leeds Rhinos & St Helens men with prestigious award

In the last decade only two Englishmen have won the golden boot.

In 2012, Leeds Rhinos skipper Kevin Sinfield picked up the award when it was handed to the best player in the world that year after Sinfield had guided the Rhinos to the World Club Challenge against Manly Sea Eagles as well as Grand Final glory against Warrington Wolves in which he won the Harry Sunderland Award as Man of the Match scoring a try and kicking five goals after getting knocked out twice in the game.

This came a masterful semi-final display against Wigan Warriors the week before. He also won a trophy with England that autumn.

Then in 2018, Tommy Makinson won the award when it was redefined as the best international player of the year.

This came after some stunning displays in the series win over New Zealand.

Now three England players are hoping to follow in their footsteps in 2022 as they nominees for the honour have been released.

Those are NRL prop Tom Burgess, Sydney Roosters’ Victor Radley and Warrington Wolves star George Williams.

Leigh Leopards star Edwin Ipape has also been nominated for the honour.

Here is the full list of nominees:

Josh Addo-Carr (Australia)
Tom Burgess (England)
Ben Garcia (France)
Harry Grant (Australia)
Jahrome Hughes (New Zealand)
Edwin Ipape (Papua New Guinea)
Keaon Koloamatangi (Tonga)
Jarome Luai (Samoa)
Joey Manu (New Zealand)
Mitchell Moses (Lebanon)
Cameron Munster (Australia)
Victor Radley (England)
Joran Schoenmaker (Netherlands)
Brandon Smith (New Zealand)
Jaydn Su’A (Samoa)
Joseph Sua’ali’i (Samoa)
Brian To’o (Samoa)
Sunia Turuva (Fiji)
George Williams (England)

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments