Connect with us

Super League

The three clubs best placed to win each trophy as 2023 Super League season approaches

The 2023 Super League season is edging closer and closer especially now that the new year has begun.

As ever, there are three trophies all 12 Super League teams will be chasing in 2023.

So, we are going to assess which teams will be best placed to win each trophy in the new season.

Challenge Cup: Wigan Warriors, Salford Red Devils and St Helens
Alongside the Super League Champions St Helens who lifted the Challenge Cup trophy in 2021 and the current holders Wigan Warriors who have Challenge Cup glory grained into their DNA, it could be Salford who finished last season brilliantly and have the perfect style of play for knockout rugby. They also made it to the cup final in 2020 so know the route.

League Leaders Shield: St Helens, Wigan Warriors and Huddersfield Giants
No side in Super League history has won as many League Leaders’ Shields as St Helens and the Super League Champions are well placed to finish top again as are Wigan who were unbeaten at home in 2023. As for the Giants, they were brilliant at home and statistically were up there with St Helens especially in terms of how they dominated field possession.

Grand Final: St Helens, Wigan Warriors and Leeds Rhinos
Since 2006 only these three teams have won a Grand Final whilst only one other team has won the Grand Final in the shape of Bradford Bulls. This winning habit is engrained within the three. St Helens are naturally the favourites whilst having Bevan French and Jai Field means they can win any one off game. As for Leeds, they made their way to Old Trafford a year ago. Thus, they are well placed to return.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Must See

More in Super League