The shock reason why Leeds Rhinos are FORCED to turn to teenager this week

Leeds Rhinos and Hull FC both come into their game on Saturday needing a win to keep pace with Warrington Wolves, Hull KR and Salford Red Devils in the play-off race.

Neither have ideal prep suffering crushing defeats last week and now both sides have lost key personnel ahead of this game.

This has made it incredibly difficult for both members of the Smith family to pick their squads with Rohan Smith forced to turn to a teenager.

Firstly focusing on Tony Smith has made three changes to the side that lined up against Warrington last weekend, with Jake Trueman dropping out having suffered a ruptured Achilles, and Darnell McIntosh and Davy Litten sidelined with hand and back injuries respectively.

The trio are replaced in the squad by Tex Hoy, who has recovered from a hamstring injury, Danny Houghton who returns after completing his head injury assessment protocols, and Hull FC Academy and Yorkshire Academy prop Cobie Wainhouse, with the 17-year old named in a senior squad for the first time.

Hull remain without Ligi Sao who continues his recovery from a knee injury, while Mitieli Vulikijapani continues his recovery from knee surgery.

Half back Aidan Sezer has been ruled out after suffering a concussion in training with James Bentley also stood down whilst he follows the mandatory return to play protocols following his concussion last week at Huddersfield.

Leeds welcome back winger David Fusitu’a and forward James McDonnell after they have recovered from back spasm injuries and Nene Macdonald is included in the initial squad as he is due to return from the birth of his child in Australia before Saturday’s game.

As well as Sezer and Bentley through concussion, the Rhinos are also without Richie Myler, Zane Tetevano, Justin Sangare and Corey Johnson through injury.

2 David Fusitu’a sponsored by Berry’s Jewellers

3 Harry Newman sponsored by Warners Fish Merchants

4 Nene Macdonald sponsored by Fenton Finance

5 Ash Handley sponsored by Roxy Ballroom

8 Mikolaj Oledzki sponsored by Pickups Self Storage

12 Rhyse Martin sponsored by Mailway Packaging Solutions

13 Cameron Smith sponsored by Warners Fish Merchants

14 Jarrod O’Connor sponsored by Axis

15 Sam Lisone sponsored by KBins

16 Derrell Olpherts sponsored by Holbury Dental Laboratories Ltd

18 Tom Holroyd sponsored by West Riding Paper Services

19 James McDonnell sponsored by Wetherby Whaler

20 Morgan Gannon sponsored by Simon Baynes

21 Luke Hooley sponsored by So-Trak Ltd

22 Sam Walters sponsored by Warners Fish Merchants

23 Liam Tindall sponsored by Bartercard

24 Luis Roberts sponsored by Wetherby Whaler

25 James Donaldson sponsored by ACS

29 Jack Sinfield sponsored by ACS

31 Leon Ruan sponsored by Moortown

34 Alfie Edgell sponsored by The Leeds Welding Company