The positions most dominated by overseas players revealed

There are 81 overseas players in Super League with 10 clubs using all seven of their quota spots, Salford Red Devils using six and Catalans Dragons using five.

So, we have broken down which positions are most dominated by overseas players.

The most two dominated positions are prop (somewhat unsurprisingly) but also centre.

There are only five teams who operate with foreign fullbacks. That leaves it with the least alongside hooker and loose forward.

There are a lack of wingers with only six as well.

Fullback: 5
Tui Lolohea (Huddersfield Giants), Tex Hoy (Hull FC), Lachlan Coote (Hull KR), Matt Dufty (Warrington Wolves), Jai Field (Wigan Warriors).

Winger: 6
Bureta Faraimo (Castleford Tigers), David Fusitu’a (Leeds Rhinos), Ken Sio (Salford Red Devils), Jorge Taufua (Wakefield Trinity), Bevan French (Wigan Warriors), Abbas Miski (Wigan Warriors).

Centre: 16 
Jake Mamo (Castleford Tigers), Mahe Fonua (Castleford Tigers), Tyrone May (Catalans Dragons), Adam Keighran (Catalans Dragons), Kevin Naiqama (Huddersfield Giants), Esan Marsters (Huddersfield Giants), Carlos Tuimavave (Hull FC), Tom Opacic (Hull KR), Shaun Kenny-Dowall (Hull KR), Nene MacDonald (Leeds Rhinos), Ricky Leutele (Leigh Leopards), Tim Lafai (Salford Red Devils), Will Hopoate (St Helens), Konrad Hurrell (St Helens), Samisoni Langi (Wakefield Trinity), Peter Mata’utia (Warrington Wolves).

Halfback: 9
Jacob Miller (Castleford Tigers), Mitchell Pearce (Catalans Dragons), Jake Clifford (Hull FC), Blake Austin (Leeds Rhinos), Aidan Sezer (Leeds Rhinos), Brodie Croft (Salford Red Devils), Mason Lino (Wakefield Trinity), Josh Drinkwater (Warrington Wolves), Cade Cust (Wigan Warriors).

Prop: 23
Suaia Matagi (Castleford Tigers), Albert Vete (Castleford Tigers), Siosiua Taukeiaho (Catalans Dragons), Seb Ikahihifo (Huddersfield Giants), Ligi Sao (Hull FC), Chris Satae (Hull FC), Kane Evans (Hull FC), Sauaso Sue (Hull KR), Rhys Kennedy (Hull KR), Zane Tetevano (Leeds Rhinos), Sam Lisone (Leeds Rhinos), Tom Amone (Leigh Leopards), Ben Nakubuwai (Leigh Leopards), Ava Seumanufagai (Leigh Leopards), King Vuniyayawa (Salford Red Devils), Agnatius Paasi (St Helens), Jai Whitbread (Wakefield Trinity), Renouf Atoni (Wakefield Trinity), Paul Vaughan (Warrington Wolves), Thomas Mikaele (Warrington Wolves), Sam Kasiano (Warrington Wolves), Patrick Mago (Wigan Warriors), Kaide Ellis (Wigan Warriors).

Hooker: 5
Nathan Peats (Huddersfield Giants), Joe Lovodua (Hull FC), Matt Parcell (Hull KR), Edwin Ipape (Leigh Leopards), Joey Lussick (St Helens).

Second-Row: 12
Kenny Edwards (Castleford Tigers), Manu Ma’u (Catalans Dragons), Chris McQueen (Huddersfield Giants), Kane Linnett (Hull KR), Rhyse Martin (Leeds Rhinos), Shane Wright (Salford Red Devils), Sam Stone (Salford Red Devils), Curtis Sironen (St Helens), James Bell (St Helens), Sione Mata’utia (St Helens), Kelepi Tanginoa (Wakefield Trinity), Willie Isa (Wigan Warriors).

Loose-Forward: 5
Luke Yates (Huddersfield Giants), John Asiata (Leigh Leopards), Kai O’Donnell (Leigh Leopards), Kevin Proctor (Wakefield Trinity), Josh McGuire (Warrington Wolves).

Taking a broader look, forwards dominate with 40 forwards signed compared to 22 outside backs and 19 spine players.

Forwards: 40

Spine (Hooker, halfbacks, fullback): 19

Outside Backs: 22

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments