Connect with us

Super League

The only rugby league man honoured in the New Year’s Honours List

Last night, the New Year’s Honours List was released and rugby league was almost entirely absent except for the presence of one man being Robert Elstone.

The successful businessman and administrator received an MBE for services to sport which no doubt includes his time with the Castleford Tigers in 2007.

A self proclaimed “lifelong fan” of the Tigers he worked towards relocating the Tigers to a new stadium which is finally set to happen in the coming years though in this case the Jungle is set to be redeveloped.

In 2007, he left the Tigers because he could no longer commit the necessary time and effort to the Tigers.

He would later work at the RFL such as an Executive Assistant with the Rugby Football League. He would even act as Head of the RFL.

Other than this, this time around there is very minimal representation from rugby league.

Many were hoping that Leeds Rhinos legend Kevin Sinfield would finally receive a Knighthood and truly be Sir Kevin Sinfield.

This comes after Sinfield ran seven ultramarathons in a week in 2022 to raise more money in the fight against Motor Neurone Disease inspired by good friend Rob Burrow.

In 2021, he ran 101 miles in 24 hours whilst 2020 saw him run seven marathons in seven days earning an OBE after receiving an MBE for services to rugby league in the past.

He has now raised over £7 million in the fight against MND but still hasn’t received a Knighthood.

Others meanwhile are rightly disappointed to see that England’s Wheelchair team who won the World Cup and brought new eyes to a very inclusive sport were not included and nor were the PDRL team who also won their World Cup.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Must See

More in Super League