Connect with us

Wigan Warriors

The one trophy Wigan Warriors could aim for which no Rugby League team has won in 18 years

Wigan Warriors

By winning the Challenge Cup last weekend, the Wigan Warriors completed a clean sweep of trophies. The Cherry and Whites currently hold the League Leaders’ Shield, the Super League trophy, the World Club Challenge and the Challenge Cup in a feat which has not been achieved since St Helens did the same in the mid-2000s under Daniel Anderson.

With the Warriors currently at joint top of the Super League, level on points with St Helens but with a game in hand, they look well placed to compete for the League Leaders’ Shield and Grand Final again in 2024.

With everything they have achieved, they could well be in the running for one trophy which has eluded them so far. In fact, it is a trophy which no Super League side has won in nearly 20 years. Although it is not one which is not won on the pitch, it is one which is generally reserved for the truly great Rugby League sides.

Wigan Warriors Quiz: Can you name these former Super League players? #2

1 of 25
Sam Halsall at Wigan Warriors, before joining Huddersfield Giants.


Wigan Warriors could aim for trophy which has evaded Rugby League sides

Super League players

Credit: Imago Images

When it comes to the BBC’s Sports Personality of the Year award, Rugby League sides have generally been snubbed for the big awards on the night. Kevin Sinfield has come closest to lifting the main gong, finishing third in recognition of his role in Leeds Rhinos’ treble-winning side in 2015.

Rugby League sides have lifted the Team of the Year award in the past, however, it is a remarkable 18 years since any Super League side was recognised. St Helens were the last team to receive the award in 2006, following their treble-winning season that year, and their clean sweep of trophies in that 12 months.

Before that, Wigan’s all-conquering side of the 1990s was the last Rugby League side to win the award. They lifted the trophy in 1994 having matched the current side’s achievement of winning all the trophies available to them.

The award has been given since 1960, and the two mentioned above are the only Rugby League teams to be recognised in the history of the event. St Helens were nominated in 2021, but lost out to the England men’s football team. By contrast, 11 Rugby Union sides have lifted the prize.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Must See

More in Wigan Warriors