Connect with us

Super League

The Castleford Tigers stars who could win the Man of Steel

Rugby league is littered with prestigious awards.

There is the golden boot award for the best international player, the Harry Sunderland Award is given to the man who stands out in the Super League Grand Final, the Lance Todd trophy goes to the Man of the Match in the Challenge Cup Final.

But the Steve Prescott Man of Steel is the biggest individual honour a Super League player can pick up.

In most sports, the player of the year exclusively goes to a team from the Champions, but not in rugby league.

In 2022 the Man of Steel came from sixth, in 2020 from eighth and in 2011 the Man of Steel winner finished ninth in the league.

So, any team can have a player who wins the Man of Steel so we’re looking at every club’s biggest chance at winning the honour in 2023.

So, which Castleford Tigers player stands out as their best chance at winning the Man of Steel?

In the last 15 years, three Castleford players have picked up the award.

In 2011, Rangi Chase claimed the honour despite finishing ninth, in 2017 it was Luke Gale as the Tigers made it to the Grand Final and in 2020 Paul McShane as the Tigers finished eighth.

They are a club who tend to have a stand out player even in seasons when they struggle.

In 2023, McShane would be a decent bet for the Tigers as could star signings Gareth Widdop and Jacob Miller.

Meanwhile, brilliant fullback and try scorer Niall Evalds would be perhaps their best chance if he stayed fit during the entire season.

The Tigers’ spine is after all the key to their success in 2023.

1 Comment

1 Comment

  1. Fumper27

    January 24, 2023 at 10:45 pm

    What about Daryl Clark in 2014? Jeez, you’re no better than Callum Walker

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Must See

More in Super League