Connect with us

Super League

Swinton v Warrington: 21-man squads, injury update and TV details

Swinton and Warrington have both announced their 21-man squads for Sunday afternoon’s Challenge Cup Third Round fixture at Heywood Road (KO 12:30pm).

The Lions come into the game on the back of a loss, after being beaten 28-20 by Oldham despite beating them in the Cup the week before.

It’s been almost a century since the club last won the Challenge Cup when, incidentally, they beat Warrington 5-3 in the 1928 final in front of a 33,909 crowd at Wigan’s Central Park.

The Wolves have certainly enjoyed more success in recent years, winning the Cup four times since 2000 with the most recent coming in 2019.

It’s been a mixed start to the year for Steve Price’s men, with a defeat to Castleford and a win over Leigh  so far in Super League.

The game will be available to watch via the Our League app for the earlybird price of £4.95, before increasing to £10.00 on matchday.

Swinton Lions

The Lions’ side contains plenty of Super League experience, including ex-Wigan juniors Luke Waterworth and Nick Gregson, former Salford youngster Luis Roberts and veteran halfback Martyn Ridyard. On loan Leigh prop Tom Spencer isn’t available as part of his deal with the Centurions, while Jose Kenga continues to recover from a ruptured achilles. The likes of Sam Grant, Lewis Hatton and Liam Forsyth are also missing.

21-man squad: 1 Mike Butt, 2 Richard Lepori, 3 Mitch Cox, 6 Martyn Ridyard, 7 Jack Hansen, 8 Sam Brooks, 9 Luke Waterworth, 11 Rhodri Lloyd, 12 Nick Gregson, 13 Will Hope, 15 Louis Brogan, 16 Paddy Jones, 18 Cobi Green, 19 Deane Meadows, 20 Tayler Brown, 21 Ben Heyes, 22 Geronimo Doyle, 24 Paul Nash, 25 Luis Roberts, 26 Jordan Brown, 28 Dan Clare.

Warrington Wolves

There’s two changes for the Wolves with Matt Davis and Sitaleki Akauola coming into the side after recovering from injury. They replace Mike Cooper and Gareth Widdop. There’s still no Greg Inglis as the former Australian international continues to gain match fitness.

21-man squad: 1 Stefan Ratchford, 2 Tom Lineham, 4 Toby King, 5 Josh Charnley, 6 Blake Austin, 8 Chris Hill, 9 Daryl Clark, 11 Ben Currie, 12 Jack Hughes, 13 Joe Philbin, 14 Jason Clark, 15 Matt Davis, 16 Danny Walker, 17 Matty Ashton, 18 Jake Mamo, 19 Rob Mulhern, 20 Sitaleki Akauola, 21 Rob Butler, 22 Ellis Robson, 23 Josh Thewlis, 27 Connor Wrench.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Must See

More in Super League