Super League Young Player of the Year revealed

Tonight the likes of Wigan Warriors, Warrington Wolves, Leigh Leopards and Salford Red Devils will be watching on to see their players and coaches scoop awards.

And the Young Player of the Year Award in Super League has already been confirmed.

The nominees for the award were Brad O’Neill, the 21-year-old hooker who has been a key figure in the Warriors pack throughout 2023, is one of three nominees for the Young Player of the Year award.

O’Neill was joined by two players from Warrington Wolves – second-row Matty Nicholson, and outside back Josh Thewlis.

Nicholson, who was born in Halifax and has previously played for Wigan and Newcastle Thunder, is the youngest of the three, having turned 20 in July.

Thewlis, who joined the Wolves from the renowned Oldham community club Waterhead, was 21 in April – meeting the eligibility criteria for the award of having been under 21 at the start of the 2023 Betfred Super League season in February.

Many felt St Helens prop George Delaney who had an excellent season should have been nominated whilst the likes of Jarrod O’Connor of Leeds Rhinos are too old as is holder of the award going into the event Jack Welsby who won it in 2021 and 2022.

The winner has been confirmed to be Warrington Wolves winger Josh Thewlis.

Later the Coach of the Year award will be confirmed.

The nominees for the Betfred Super League Coach of the Year award include the last three winners – with Peet aiming to win it for the second consecutive season.

Adrian Lam, who won the award in 2020 when he steered Wigan Warriors to the Grand Final, is in contention again after plotting an outstanding return to the game’s elite for Leigh Leopards – in which they have won the Betfred Challenge Cup at Wembley, in addition to securing a Play-Off place.

Steve McNamara is in contention to be named Coach of the Year for the second time in three seasons, with Catalans Dragons 80 minutes away from a repeat of their debut Grand Final appearance in 2021 having secured a top two finish and a home Semi Final.

Paul Rowley is the only one of the four nominees not to have won the award previously, although he was also nominated last year for steering Salford Red Devils to the Play-Offs – and has again been recognised by his fellow coaches for the consistency, competitiveness and enterprise of his team.

The winners are being crowned at the sport’s biggest and most inclusive Awards Night at Emirates Old Trafford tonight.

You can watch the event from 9:15 on the OurLeague App.

The Man of Steel will also be crowned with Tom Johnstone, Bevan French and Jack Welsby nominated.