Super League squad nears completion as they hand out number 30 to exciting player

Wakefield Trinity now have a 30 man strong squad for 2023 after giving the number 30 shirt to exciting youngster Oliver Pratt.

Pratt signed a three-year deal with the club before Christmas and can play centre, fullback or wing.

He played at centre against Leeds Rhinos in the win over them on Boxing Day. He provides important cover and will develop into an exciting player no doubt.

Trinity will have Max Jowitt wearing number one, Jorge Taufua at two with Tom Lineham beating star youngster Lewis Murphy to the number five shirt who both beat Murphy to the shirts.

Ex-Leeds Rhinos man Corey Hall takes three with Reece Lyne, the former Hull FC centre who is celebrating a testimonial, keeps four with new signing Samisoni Langi overlooked.

Speaking of overlooking new signings, Morgan Smith missed out on six with former Huddersfield Giants halfback Lee Gaskell taking on six having worn 17 last year.

Mason Lino has kept seven whilst Eddie Battye was yesterday confirmed as keeping the number eight also ahead of Atoni.

Battye took on the eight shirt left by David Fifita who in his last season moved back to 35 last year.

Battye will now keep it again in 2023 as Atoni’s shirt number remains unclear with Jai Whitbread taking Tinirau Arona’s number 10 in 2023.

Liam Hood has kept nine. Ashurst has kept 11 with Kelepi Tanginoa still at 12 and Jay Pitts at 13 all of whom have beaten new signing Kevin Proctor to their respective squad numbers.

Jordy Crowther has also kept 14 and Liam Kay has moved up to 15.

Ex-Hull FC man Josh Bowden will wear the number 16 shirt and Renouf Atoni is the only new signing to receive a shirt number at 17 and Lee Kershaw remains at 18.

New signings Kevin Proctor (19), Morgan Smith (20) and Samisoni Langi (21) all have squad numbers now.

Rob Butler will wear number 22 whilst star winger Lewis Murphy has moved from 27 to 23. Young hooker Harry Bowes is number 24. 25 goes to Sam Eseh, 26 to Boxing Day star Dane Windrow, and 27 to versatile young man Robbie Butterworth. 28 goes to Ellis Roberts and 29 to Joe Law.

Here’s their confirmed squad numbers for 2023:

1 Max Jowitt
2 Jorge Taufua
3 Corey Hall
4 Reece Lyne
5 Tom Lineham
6 Lee Gaskell
7 Mason Lino
8 Eddie Battye
9 Liam Hood
10 Jai Whitbread
11 Matty Ashurst
12 Kelepi Tanginoa
13 Jay Pitts
14 Jordy Crowther
15 Liam Kay
16 Josh Bowden
17 Renouf Atoni
18 Lee Kershaw
19 Kevin Proctor
20 Morgan Smith
21 Samisoni Langi
22 Rob Butler
23 Lewis Murphy
24 Harry Bowes
25 Sam Eseh
26 Dane Windrow
27 Robbie Butterworth
28 Ellis Roberts
29 Joe Law
30 Oliver Pratt

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments