Super League side near squad completion announcing another shirt number with pre-season on the horizon

Wakefield Trinity have been announcing their squad numbers day by day and with it being Christmas Eve or the 24th December they’ve announced that Harry Bowes has retained the 24 shirt from last season.

With Bowes assuming the 24 shirt that means Wakefield have now put together 24 of their likely 30 man squad indicating that despite only signing four players they’re potentially done for squad building, and will simply continue to hand out the latter numbers to other young talents.

Bowes will once again don the number 24 as he did last season when he made 10 appearances for Trinity, having debuted in 2020.

Wakefield will hope that the young hooker can continue his development and another season with double digit appearances will likely set him up for a progression into the starting 13.

As mentioned with Bowes taking the 24 shirt and the four signings having already been granted shirt numbers it’s likely that Wakefield will line up as they are with those 24 already numbered set to be those playing the majority of minutes.

It took under day 17 for a new signing to be granted a number with many surprised by star signing Samisoni Langi being overlooked for the number four shirt but he’ll wear 21 whilst NRL arrivals Renouf Atoni and Kevin Proctor will wear 17 and 19 and former Featherstone Rovers’ man Morgan Smith donning the number 20 once again.

With Bowes now confirmed at 24 the squad is becoming a clearer picture as up until yesterday Trin’s other star youngster Lewis Murphy was without a number, but has since taken 23.

That means a back line of numbers one through fives therefore will feature Max Jowitt, Jorge Taufua, Corey Hall, Reece Lyne and Tom Lineham respectively.

Former Huddersfield Giants half-back Lee Gaskell takes six having worn 17 last year, Mason Lino has kept seven whilst Eddie Battye was yesterday confirmed as keeping the number eight also ahead of Atoni.

Battye took on the eight shirt, left by David Fifita who in his last season moved back to 35 last year, whilst Liam Hood has kept nine with Jai Whitbread filling in the other prop slot at 10.

Ashurst has kept 11 with Kelepi Tanginoa still at 12 and Jay Pitts at 13 all of whom have beaten new signing Kevin Proctor to their respective squad numbers.

Jordy Crowther, named as vice captain at the start of the year, has also kept 14 and Liam Kay has moved up to 15.

Ex-Hull FC man Josh Bowden will wear the number 16 shirt and Renouf Atoni will wear 17 whilst Lee Kershaw remains at 18.

New signings Kevin Proctor (19), Morgan Smith (20) and Samisoni Langi (21) all have squad numbers now and Rob Butler will wear number 22.

Here’s their confirmed squad numbers for 2023:

1 Max Jowitt
2 Jorge Taufua
3 Corey Hall
4 Reece Lyne
5 Tom Lineham
6 Lee Gaskell
7 Mason Lino
8 Eddie Battye
9 Liam Hood
10 Jai Whitbread
11 Matty Ashurst
12 Kelepi Tanginoa
13 Jay Pitts
14 Jordy Crowther
15 Liam Kay
16 Josh Bowden
17 Renouf Atoni
18 Lee Kershaw
19 Kevin Proctor
20 Morgan Smith
21 Samisoni Langi
22 Rob Butler
23 Lewis Murphy
24 Harry Bowes

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments