Connect with us

Rugby League News

Super League Coach of the Year shortlist revealed with Wigan Warriors boss Matt Peet and Salford Red Devils coach Paul Rowley among those nominated

Ahead of the start of the Betfred Super League play-offs this weekend, the three-person shortlist for the 2022 Betfred Super League Coach of the Year can be announced.

Matt Peet – Wigan Warriors

Peet made the step up from the backroom team to Head Coach ahead of the 2022 campaign and his debut season at the helm has seen his Warriors team finish the regular season in second place, impressively unbeaten at the DW Stadium, and add another Challenge Cup to the trophy cabinet.

Named Betfred Coach of the month in February, Peet’s influence on the culture and community focus at the club has been evident throughout the season with joint training sessions combining all Wigan’s elite teams as well as community and fan engagement being central to match day experiences.

Paul Rowley – Salford Red Devils

Rowley has gained plenty of plaudits for the exciting, expansive style his Red Devils team have been playing in 2022.

At the start of the season many wrote Salford off as a team set to struggle, a prediction that looked destined to come true with just three victories from their first 11 matches. But Rowley defied those expectations and masterminded a run of nine victories from their last 12 matches which saw them finish the season in a play-off berth. The start of this run, in late June, coincided with Rowley being named July’s Coach of the Month.

Under Rowley’s leadership a strong team ethic and bond has been created which has allowed the likes of Brodie Croft, Tim Lafai and Ryan Brierley to flourish in the team.

Kristian Woolf – St Helens

Under Woolf this season, Saints have continued their dominance which has seen them lift a hat-trick of Super League trophies in the in last three seasons. Despite this Grand Final dominance, 2022 is the first League Leaders’ Shield the team have claimed since 2019 and Woolf’s first as Head Coach.

With a potential fourth straight Grand Final title still firmly in Saints’ sights, Woolf’s men know the expectations he places on them week-in-week-out to deliver the high standards that has seen them sit top of the league table for much of the season.

Woolf’s use of the senior player group including James Roby, Alex Walmsley, Tommy Makinson and Jonny Lomax as well as ensuring the next generation of Saints players get a chance too means that the strong club culture built by Woolf flows from the senior team right through to academy level.

The Coach of the Year will be announced as part of the Betfred Super League Awards which will be held at Headingley Stadium on Monday 19 September. Fans can watch the Awards live on Super League’s YouTube channel from 9pm that night.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Must See

More in Rugby League News