Connect with us

Rugby League News

State of Origin squads confirmed ahead of Game I

The team news is in for State of Origin Game I, one of the biggest games in any rugby league season.

Starting with Queensland, Fourteen players who represented the Maroons during last year’s 2-1 series victory have been selected in the 19-man squad for the Adelaide Oval clash on May 31.

After an outstanding start to the season with the Brisbane Broncos, front rower Thomas Flegler has earned an Origin recall and will play his first match for the Maroons since making his debut in the final game of the 2021 series.

Hamiso Tabuai-Fidow also starred while on Origin debut in that same match and The Dolphins flyer’s brilliant start to the season saw him nudge out seasoned Maroons campaigner Dane Gagai for a centre position.

David Fifita and Christian Welch are the other Maroons players returning to the Origin fold after taking no part in last year’s series.

Fifita will pack down in a new-look second row alongside Tom Gilbert.

The sole debutant for the Maroons is Reece Walsh, who won the race for the fullback position following his impressive form for the Broncos.

Walsh was a member of the Maroons’ extended squad last season and in 2021 he was selected for the second game of the series only to suffer a hamstring injury on match eve.

Here is their squad:

1. Reece Walsh Brisbane Broncos
2. Selwyn Cobbo Brisbane Broncos
3. Valentine Holmes North Queensland Cowboys
4. Hamiso Tabuai-Fidow The Dolphins
5. Murray Taulagi North Queensland Cowboys
6. Cameron Munster Melbourne Storm
7. Daly Cherry-Evans (C) Manly Warringah Sea Eagles
8. Thomas Flegler Brisbane Broncos
9. Ben Hunt St George Illawarra Dragons
10. Lindsay Collins Sydney Roosters
11. Tom Gilbert The Dolphins
12. David Fifita Gold Coast Titans
13. Patrick Carrigan Brisbane Broncos
14. Harry Grant Melbourne Storm
15. Tino Fa’asuamaleaui Gold Coast Titans
16. Reuben Cotter North Queensland Cowboys
17. Jai Arrow South Sydney Rabbitohs
18. Tom Dearden North Queensland Cowboys
19. Christian Welch Melbourne Storm

Meanwhile, NSW Blues coach Brad Fittler today has named three debutants for the opening game of the 2023 Ampol State of Origin series at Adelaide Oval in Adelaide on Wednesday 31 May.

The squad also includes five players from 2022 NRL premiers Penrith Panthers, while James Tedesco will captain the team for the third consecutive year having officially taken on the role in 2020.

The three players who are yet to debut for the Blues include Dally M Medallist and Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks halfback Nicho Hynes, Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs prop Tevita Pangai Junior and Canberra Raiders back-rower Hudson Young.

South Sydney Rabbitohs centre Campbell Graham has been named as 18th player.

NSW Squad:

Josh Addo-Carr (Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs)
Nathan Cleary (Penrith Panthers)
Tyson Frizell (Newcastle Knights)
Payne Haas (Brisbane Broncos)
Nicho Hynes (Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks)
Apisai Koroisau (Wests Tigers)
Jarome Luai (Penrith Panthers)
Liam Martin (Penrith Panthers)
Latrell Mitchell (South Sydney Rabbitohs)
Cameron Murray (South Sydney Rabbitohs)
Tevita Pangai Junior (Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs)
Junior Paulo (Parramatta Eels)
James Tedesco (c) (Sydney Roosters)
Brian To’o (Penrith Panthers)
Tom Trbojevic (Manly Warringah Sea Eagles)
Isaah Yeo (Penrith Panthers)
Hudson Young (Canberra Raiders)

18th player – Campbell Graham (South Sydney Rabbitohs)

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Must See

More in Rugby League News