Connect with us

Super League

St Helens’ greatest Super League season

Super League is about to head into its 28th season.

Of the previous 27, St Helens have won 10 titles, Leeds Rhinos have claimed eight meaning that between them they have two third of the Super League titles between them.

Wigan Warriors have won five titles and Bradford Bulls have won the other four. Four other clubs have won the League Leaders’ Shield whilst five have contested but lost Grand Finals.

Every Super League club has made a splash at one stage or another at the right end of the table.

So, that’s why we’re considering every Super League club’s super season in the top flight, that is to say, their best every Super League campaign.

Today is the turn of St Helens. But what is their best ever campaign?

Super League’s most successful side this is perhaps the most difficult one to determine.

They have won nine Grand Finals and a total of 10 Super League titles having won the inaugural Super League title in 1996 when the trophy went to the side who finished top of the pile.

So, 10 title winning seasons to pick from and it soon could be 11 with the Saints potentially on the eve of winning a record five titles in a row and look like they could be at their very best in 2023.

However, there is one season that stands out and that is 2006.

In 2006, the Saints became only the second side to win the treble in Super League and were untouchable all season and only losing four games in the entire season in all competitions.

Of the three treble winners, they were the most dominant and that was a truly special season.

2019 is perhaps the next best after 2006 but 2023 could very well be in the reckoning when we have this conversation in a year’s time.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Must See

More in Super League