Squads named for Sunday’s Qualifiers games

BBC Whitehaven Halifax

The squads for Sunday’s games in the Qualifiers have been released.

Halifax play host to Widnes Vikings while London Broncos take on Featherstone Rovers at the Trailfinders Ground.

Richard Marshall’s Fax put up a brilliant fight against Hull Kingston Rovers but were beaten 26-22 at KCOM Craven Park. Ben Heaton scored four tries for the West Yorkshire but his effort was in vain as Halifax were unable to beat the Robins for the second time in three weeks.

Two changes have been made for this weekend’s match as Jacob Fairbank and James Saltonstall come in for the suspended Ryan Boyle and youngster Will Calcott.

Halifax’s 19 man squad is as follows.. 

Barber, Cahalane, Douglas, Fairbank, Grady, Grix, Heaton, Johnston, Kaye, Mammone, Moore, Morris, Murrell, Saltonstall, Sharp, Sio, Tyrer, Woodburn-Hall, Worrincy.

The opening round defeat to Warrington Wolves capped off an awful week for Widnes Vikings, who had star half-back Rangi Chase suspended due to a positive drugs test. The Vikings were leading 12-6 at half-time against the Wolves but Tony Smith’s side kept the hosts scoreless in the second period while they notched 22 points to seal the win.

Denis Betts has made one change as the suspended Rangi Chase, who was named in the Vikings’ 19 man squad against Warrington, is replaced by Danny Walker.

Widnes’ 19 man squad is as follows..

Bridge, Buchanan, Burke, Cahill, Chapelhow, Craven, Dudson, Hanbury, Houston, Johnstone, Manuokafoa, Marsh, Mellor, Olbison, Runciman, Thompson, Walker, White, Whitley.

London Broncos gave Catalans Dragons a real fright at the Stade Gilbert Brutus. The Broncos lost 20-18 but gave a brilliant account of themselves and they will be looking to work on that performance when they play host to Featherstone.

Broncos coach Andrew Henderson has made two changes as Kieran Dixon and Lewis Bienek come in for Michael Channing and Junior Roqica.


London’s 19 man squad is as follows.. 

Kear, Williams, Hellewell, Dixon, Sammut, Barthau, Spencer, Ioane, Pitts, Ackers, Battye, Evans, Pewhairangi, Davis, Gee, Walker, Bienek, Boudebza, Wilde

Featherstone Rovers have made three changes from their defeat to Leigh Centurions. Powerhouse centre Chris Ulugia makes a return to the squad while Jordan Baldwinson and Jason Walton are also named. James Lockwood, Brad Tagg and Scott Turner are the three players who have made way.

Featherstone’s 19 man squad is as follows.. 

Hardman, Ulugia, Taulapapa, Briscoe, Briggs, Thackeray, Griffin, Carlile, Bostock, Davies, Moore, Mariano, Wildie, Walton, Hardcastle, Igbinedion, Brooks, Farrell, Baldwinson


Notify of