Connect with us


Six of the greatest Super League players who didn’t win the Man of Steel and when they could have won it

The Man of Steel Award is the most prestigious award in British rugby league and has been won by some of the greatest players in rugby league history from both sides of the planet.

Yet remarkably, some of the best players ever have also never won the award due to bad luck, bad timing or even because of the way the voting system has worked in the past.

So here’s six players who surprisingly never won the Man of Steel.

Rob Burrow

A two time Harry Sunderland Award winner in 2007 and in 2011 when he claimed all 37 votes with a stunning Grand Final display. A legendary player and one of the greatest in Super League history, it was a surprise that he never claimed the honour especially in 2007 which was perhaps his finest ever season. He would have been a worthy winner in 2005.

Lee Briers

Another great Super League halfback with a long and illustrious career who led the Wolves to Grand Finals in 2012 and 2013. A true legend of the Wolves, he would have been a worthy winner certainly in 2011 as they finished top.

Sean O’Loughlin

Another of Super League’s all time greatest players and the second most successful captain in Super League history, it is also remarkable that the former England skipper never claimed the Man of Steel. In 2010 and 2012 as Wigan finished top teammates Pat Richards and Sam Tomkins won the award.

Danny McGuire

Super League’s all time greatest try scorer, an eight time Grand Final winner, a two time Harry Sunderland award and perhaps the greatest offensive player in Super League history, McGuire certainly should have won the Man of Steel at some stage in his career. In 2004, his 39 tries perhaps should have earned him the honour whilst in 2006, 2008, and 2010 he was top notch. In 2015 teammate Zak Hardaker won the honour though McGuire would have been a worthy winner, and in 2017 he was the league’s best player in the second half of the campaign.

Gareth Ellis

One of the the 21st century’s best forwards on either side of the planet, he was outstanding at Leeds Rhinos and then again when he joined Hull FC and became an inspirational skipper. He would have been a worthy winner in 2016 and 2017 as Hull FC finished third.

Kevin Sinfield

Perhaps Super League’s greatest ever player, he captained Leeds to seven Grand Final wins and won two Harry Sunderland Awards, the Lance Todd trophy and the Golden Boot as the world’s best player. Mr consistent too, perhaps that worked against him as he never had a stand out season though he would have made a worthy winner in 2005, 2009 and 2012.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Must See

More in Features