Short list for huge honour trimmed to five players as England dominate and Super League star misses out

The list of candidates for the Golden Boot award in the Rugby League World Cup has been trimmed to five competitors.

The Golden Boot is a huge honour and has only been won by two Englishmen in the last decade.

Leeds Rhinos skipper Kevin Sinfield picked up the award in 2012 when it was awarded to the world’s best player.

Then in 2018, when the award was changed to being given to the best international player of the year, Tommy Makinson of St Helens picked up the award.

The list of candidates for the award in 2022 has now been trimmed to five candidates with England star Tom Burgess missing out of the final five whilst Leigh Leopards star Edwin Ipape has missed out too.

The Golden Boot will be presented to the Men’s, Women’s and Wheelchair international player of the year at Midlands Hotel, Manchester on Tuesday, November 15.

After recently announcing a long list for the Men’s Golden Boot, a panel of leading journalists and commentators from Australia, England and New Zealand has helped produce a short list of five nominees.

Kangaroos winger Josh Addo-Carr, Samoa five-eighth Jarome Luai, Kiwis fullback Joey Manu and England pair Victor Radley and Warrington Wolves George Williams are in the running for the Men’s 2022 IRL Golden Boot.

Men’s long list: Josh Addo-Carr (Australia), Tom Burgess (England), Ben Garcia (France), Harry Grant (Australia), Jahrome Hughes (New Zealand), Edwin Ipape (Papua New Guinea), Keaon Koloamatangi (Tonga), Jarome Luai (Samoa), Joey Manu (New Zealand), Mitchell Moses (Lebanon), Cameron Munster (Australia), Victor Radley (England), Joran Schoenmaker (Netherlands), Brandon Smith (New Zealand), Jaydn Su’A (Samoa), Joseph Sua’ali’i (Samoa), Brian To’o (Samoa), Sunia Turuva (Fiji), George Williams (England).

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments