Connect with us

Super League

Shock decision made on Leeds Rhinos star Mikolaj Oledzki

Leeds Rhinos prop Mikolaj Oledzki

Leeds Rhinos head coach Rohan Smith has named his side to take on Bradford Bulls this Sunday in the Keith Howard Foundation Trophy, kick off 3pm.

The squad is made up largely of the squads youngest members, including Jack Smith and Tom Nicholson-Watton who scored tries off the bench on Boxing Day. Riley Lumb, Ned McCormack and Ben Littlewood also ran out in the Wetherby Whaler Festive Challenge and are involved from the start on Sunday along with Mikolaj Oledzki, who was unavailable for the game against Wakefield. This comes as a bit of a surprise with the former Bradford loanee the biggest name to be included in the side. He’s an England international after all.

Jack Sinfield and Corey Johnson partner in the halves, with Fergus McCormack named amongst the substitutes, and Ben Hursey-Hord, who has been involved in the Rhinos Reserves team for the past year, gets his chance in the back row.

Young Leeds Rhinos stars included

Leeds Rhinos halfback Jack Sinfield

Hull FC v Leeds Rhinos Picture by Allan McKenzie/ – 02/09/2023 – Rugby League – Betfred Super League Round 24 – Hull FC v Leeds Rhinos – MKM Stadium, Kingston upon Hull, England – Leeds s Jack Sinfield. Kingston upon Hull MKM Stadium England

Dylan Proud, Freddie Brennan-Jones, Mason Corbett, Leo Aliyu and Harrison Gilmore have all progressed through the Rhinos Academy system in the last two years and are named on the bench. Gilmore, Brennan-Jones and Proud in particular were part of the 2022 Academy side that went on to win the Grand Final under Chev Walker, whilst England Community Lions international Oliver Smart is in line to get his first minutes in a Rhinos shirt having been picked up by the club from Siddal at the beginning of the year.

James Donaldson faces his former club ahead of his Testimonial match next Sunday afternoon at AMT Headingley.

Tickets for the game are still available to buy at

The 21 man squad in full is:

Riley Lumb

Derrell Olpherts

Ned McCormack

Luis Roberts

Jack Smith

Corey Johnson

Jack Sinfield

Mikolaj Oledzki

Jarrod O’Connor

Tom Nicholson-Watton

Ben Littlewood

Ben Hursey-Hord

James McDonnell

Justin Sangare

James Donaldson

Dylan Proud

Fergus McCormack

Freddie Brennan-Jones

Mason Corbett

Oliver Smart

Leo Aliyu

Harrison Gilmore

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Must See

More in Super League