Connect with us

Rugby League World Cup

Shaun Wane names England team for semi-final clash as ex-St Helens star returns and Huddersfield Giants man achieves major accolade

Shaun Wane has named his team for this afternoon’s Rugby League World Cup semi-final.

England are looking to return to the World Cup Final after losing the 2017 decider by the the skin of their teeth.

They missed out on the last final in England back in 2013 losing the semi final in London which is where today’s game is being played but this time at the Emirates Stadium of Arsenal FC.

They take on Samoa who are in their first semifinal in the tournament’s history having beaten the team England beat in the semis in 2017 Tonga.

But who are the men Wane has trusted to defeat Samoa?

There’s one change as Luke Thompson replaces St Helens star Matty Lees on the bench.

He is joined by Morgan Knowles, Wigan Warriors’ Mike Cooper and Catalans Dragons’ Mike McMeeken.

There is again no Marc Sneyd as he is left out of the 17 with Warrington Wolves George Williams joined in the spine by Jack Welsby and Sam Tomkins.

Chris Hill makes his 16th World Cup appearance which leaves him second in the all time rankings just one behind record holder Cameron Smith.

He’s joined in the front row by Tom Burgess who has been nominated for the Golden Boot along with loose-forward Victor Radley and Williams.

Dom Young and Tommy Makinson are unsurprisingly on the wing with Ryan Hall left out of the squad which is the same fate as Andy Ackers which means Michael McIlorum starts at nine.

Kallum Watkins and Herbie Farnworth start at centre as Wigan Warriors’ Kai Pearce-Paul is left out.

Wigan Warriors star John Bateman who has been in the headlines as his future remains unsure is joined by Elliot Whitehead in the back row.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Must See

More in Rugby League World Cup