Connect with us

Rugby League World Cup

Shaun Wane names England squad to face Samoa as big Ryan Hall decision made

England head coach Shaun Wane has named his 19-strong squad for Saturday’s Rugby League World Cup tournament opener against Samoa at St James’s Park, Newcastle (kick off 2.30pm).

The big news sees Ryan Hall left out of the squad, with Tommy Makinson and Newcastle Knights flyer Dom Young expected to start on the wings.

Captain Sam Tomkins will enjoy his first taste of Rugby League World Cup action since the semi-final defeat by New Zealand at Wembley Stadium in 2013, as he is included after missing the warm-up game against Fiji.

John Bateman will miss the game through suspension, with St Helens’ Super League Grand Final winner’s Tommy Makinson, Jack Welsby, Morgan Knowles and Matty Lees all included.

NRL stars Herbie Farnworth, Tom Burgess, Elliott Whitehead, Luke Thompson and Victor Radley are part of a strong unit from Australia’s premier competition, with winger Young making up the six-man contingent from down under.

Salford’s Marc Sneyd and Wigan’s Kai Pearce-Paul are other notable inclusions, as they look to make their competitive international debuts.

England 19-man squad vs Samoa: 

1 Sam Tomkins (Catalans Dragons, Capt.)
2 Tommy Makinson (St Helens)
3 Kallum Watkins (Salford Red Devils)
4 Herbie Farnworth (Brisbane Broncos)
6 Jack Welsby (St Helens)
7 George Williams (Warrington Wolves)
8 Tom Burgess (South Sydney Rabbitohs)
9 Micky McIlorum (Catalans Dragons)
10 Luke Thompson (Canterbury Bulldogs)
11 Elliott Whitehead (Canberra Raiders)
13 Victor Radley (Sydney Roosters)
14 Dom Young (Newcastle Knights)
15 Morgan Knowles (St Helens)
16 Matty Lees (St Helens)
17 Mike Cooper (Wigan Warriors)
18 Chris Hill (Huddersfield Giants)
20 Mike McMeeken (Catalans Dragons)
21 Marc Sneyd (Salford Red Devils)
24 Kai Pearce-Paul (Wigan Warriors)

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Must See

More in Rugby League World Cup