Shaun Wane names England squad as Warrington Wolves star set for huge honour as Wigan Warriors man to debut

Shaun Wane has named his squad for the last group stage game of the Rugby League World Cup as England take on Greece at Sheffield United’s Bramall Lane.

Sam Tomkins will not play as Wane gives him the chance to rest and recover for the quarter-finals with George Williams set to captain the side alongside Marc Sneyd in the halves with Jack Welsby at fullback.

Kallum Watkins misses out through a head knock and Kai Pearce-Paul will likely make his test debut likely replacing the Salford Red Devils star at centre.

Joe Batchelor the only other member of England’s 24-man squad who has yet to play in the World Cup campaign, is also included in the 19-man squad.

This will be England’s first-ever international against Greece, and the first Rugby League international played at Bramall Lane.

The match kicks off at 230pm, with live coverage on BBC1 from 145pm (see media advisory below).

England 19-man squad for RLWC fixture v Greece, October 29 (230pm)

7 George Williams (captain)

2 Tommy Makinson

5 Ryan Hall

6 Jack Welsby

8 Tom Burgess

10 Luke Thompson

12 John Bateman

13 Victor Radley

14 Dom Young

15 Morgan Knowles

16 Matty Lees

17 Mike Cooper

18 Chris Hill

19 Andy Ackers

20 Mike McMeeken

21 Marc Sneyd

22 Joe Batchelor

23 Mikolaj Oledzki

24 Kai Pearce-Paul

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments