Connect with us

Rugby League World Cup

Shaun Wane names England as St Helens trio drop out and Leeds Rhinos & Wigan Warriors stars come in

Shaun Wane has named his squad for England’s second World Cup game and has brought in five men who didn’t feature in last week’s 19 man squad for the game against Samoa.

Those are Mikolaj Oledzki, Joe Batchelor, Andy Ackers, Ryan Hall and John Bateman who returns from suspension which was picked up for a late hit on Leeds Rhinos’ Aidan Sezer in Wigan’s Super League semi-final defeat to the Rhinos.

They’re all set to play according to coach Shaun Wane who revealed after the win against Samoa that anyone who didn’t feature in that game would play against France this week at Bolton.

This means 18th man Kai Pearce-Paul, who could have played last week in the event of three concussions, will also get his official debut as will Marc Sneyd after both featured against Fiji.

St Helens trio Tommy Makinson, Morgan Knowles and Matty Lees drop out from last week’s squad.

Catalans backrow Mike McMeeken also misses out as does Wigan’s Mike Cooper after they played last week.

Here is the squad in full:

England squad 

1 Sam Tomkins

3 Kallum Watkins

4 Herbie Farnworth

5 Ryan Hall

6 Jack Welsby

7 George Williams

8 Tom Burgess

9 Michael McIlorum

10 Luke Thompson

11 Elliott Whitehead

12 John Bateman

13 Victor Radley

14 Dom Young

18 Chris Hill

19 Andy Ackers

21 Marc Sneyd

22 Joe Batchelor

23 Mikolaj Oledzki

24 Kai Pearce-Paul

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Must See

More in Rugby League World Cup