Connect with us

Super League

SEVEN Super League players included in Ireland squad

Seven current Super League players have been included in Ireland’s training squad for the Autumn World Cup Qualifiers.

James Bentley (St Helens), Liam Byrne (Wigan), Oliver Roberts (Huddersfield), Tyrone McCarthy (Salford), George King (Wakefield), Pat Moran and Riley Dean (Warrington) all have Super League experience that will hopefully help the Wolfhounds reach the 2021 World Cup.

They are in Pool A with Italy and Spain, with the top two nations going through.

Keanan Brand and Ethan Ryan, who will join Warrington and Hull KR respectively in 2020 are also included, as are Toronto trio Anthony Mullally, Bob Beswick and Liam Kay.

Toronto flyer Liam Kay is one of three Wolfpack players named.

“Our squad has a youthful look to it with some added quality, said Ireland head coach Stuart Littler. We are excited as to what the future holds for Rugby League Ireland. The work done domestically this year has been exceptional and a real step forward.

The World Cup is just around the corner and this tournament will assist with the future development and exposure of our players to the international environment.”

Ireland 2021 World Cup Qualifiers Training Squad: Lee Walsh (Athboy), Fiach Millward, Sam Cullen, Shane Kelly (Barrow Cudas, Carlow), Michael Ward (Batley), Joe Keyes (Bradford), Euan Tierein (Coventry Bears), Martyn Reilly (Dewsbury), Matthew Towey (Galway Tribesmen), Oliver Roberts, Ronan Michael (Huddersfield), Ethan Ryan (Hull KR), Gregg McNally (Leigh), Ben McKiernan, Graham OKeefe, James Mulvaney, Kevin Varga, Matt Connolly, Matthew Coade (Longhorns RL), Roland Podesta (Manly), Danny Bridge (Oldham), Api Pewhairangi (NZ Warriors), Tyrone McCarthy (Salford), James Bentley (St Helens), Frankie Halton (Swinton), Anthony Mullally, Bob Beswick, Liam Kay (Toronto), Jack Mackin (Tweed Head Seagulls), Jack O’Sullivan (University of Gloucestershire), George King (Wakefield), Keenan Brand, Pat Moran, Riley Dean (Warrington), Callum O’Neill, (Widnes), Liam Byrne (Wigan), Dec ODonnell (Workington).

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Must See

More in Super League