Scotland qualify for 2021 World Cup

Scotland have confirmed their place in the 2021 World Cup after defeating Greece … in their final Qualifying match.

They become the 12th team to qualify for the competition, joining England and Wales, who have both already qualified.

The final three European places are still up for grabs, with Ireland, Italy and Greece the favourites to secure qualification.

Italy play Spain tomorrow, before facing off against Ireland in the final game of Group A. Should the Italians triumph, they would secure spots for both themselves and the Wolfhounds.

Meanwhile in Group B, tonight’s result means it is all to play for between Greece and Serbia, with the two nations set to battle it out next weekend for the final European spot.

The final Qualifying place will be awarded to the winner of the Intercontinental Play-off between USA and Cook Islands, which takes place on November 16 in Jacksonville.

Qualified so far: Australia, England, New Zealand, Fiji, Papua New Guinea, Tonga, Samoa, Lebanon, France, Wales, Jamaica, Scotland.

Remaining Qualifying fixtures:

Europe Group A:

Italy v Spain – 2 November, Lignano Sabbiadoro, Italy

Ireland v Italy – 9 November, Dublin

Europe Group B:

Serbia v Greece – 9 November, Belgrade

Intercontinental Play-off:

USA v Cook Islands – November 16, Jacksonville

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments