Scotland name World Cup squad

Scotland head coach Steve McCormack has named his provisional squad for the 2017 Rugby League World Cup.

Led by captain Danny Brough, the squad includes regulars Dale Ferguson, Danny Addy, Ben Kavanagh, Adam Walker and Ben Hellewell.

NRL stars Lachlan Coote, Kane Linnett, Euan Atkin, Peter Wallace and Joe Wardle are also included in arguably the Scots strongest ever pool of players.

The Bravehearts won’t fear anyone when they travel Down Under after their impressive display in last year’s Four Nations, as they drew with the then world number one ranked team New Zealand.

Faced with a difficult group, Scotland will again face against the Kiwis as well as Pacific Island nations Samoa and Tonga.

They begin their campaign against Tonga in Cairns on October 29 with the top three teams from the group progressing to the quarter-finals.

Head coach McCromack said: “I’ve said to the players: selection will be based on performances. It doesn’t matter whether you are in the NRL, Super League or bottom of the Championship. I know a lot about these players, know I can trust them and just hope they can perform over these next seven or eight weeks and get on that plane.”

Scotland Squad

Danny Addy – Hull KR (14 Tests)

Euan Aitken – St George Illawarra Dragons (3)

James Bell – Warriors (0)

Ryan Brierley – Toronto Wolfpack (2)

Sam Brooks – Featherstone Rovers (3)

Danny Brough – Huddersfield Giants (23)

Brett Carter – Barrow Raiders (6)

Lewis Clarke – Moore Park Broncos (2)

Lachlan Coote – North Queensland Cowboys (3)

Davie Dixon – Keighley Cougars (0)

Luke Douglas – St Helens (8)

Liam Faughlan – Maitland Pickers (0)

Dale Ferguson – Huddersfield Giants (14)

Campbell Graham – South Sydney Rabbitohs (0)

Ben Hellewell – London Broncos (15)

Liam Hood – Leigh Centurions (7)

Ben Kavanagh – Hull KR (14)

Kane Linnett – North Queensland Cowboys (7)

Frankie Mariano – Featherstone Rovers (2)

Joe McClean – Gloucestershire All Golds (4)

Ryan Maneely – Rochdale Hornets (0)

Kieran Moran – Hull KR (0)

Will Oakes – Hull KR (0)

Brett Phillips – Workington Town (9)

Calum Phillips – Workington Town (5)

Scott Plumridge – Mittagong Lions (2)

Sheldon Powe-Hobbs – Northern Pride (1)

Matthew Russell – Warrington Wolves (8)

David Scott – Batley Bulldogs (13)

Lachlan Stein – Penrith Panthers (0)

Oscar Thomas – London Broncos (6)

Lewis Tierney – Wigan Warriors (3)

Adam Walker – Wakefield Trinity (14)

Alex Walker – London Broncos (3)

Jonathan Walker – Darlington Point Roosters (6)

Peter Wallace – Penrith Panthers (4)

Joe Wardle – Newcastle Knights (6)

Brandan Wilkinson – Bradford Bulls (0)

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments