Connect with us

Super League

Salford v Leeds: 21-man squads and injury update

Salford and Leeds have both announced their 21-man squads for Sunday afternoon’s round 11 clash at the AJ Bell Stadium (KO 1:00pm).

The fixture was due to be played on Friday before being put back by two days due to the Rhinos having five players involved in the England v Combined All Stars match, as well as several in the process of return to play protocols following a COVID-19 outbreak in the camp.

The Red Devils will go into the game in a positive mood, after clinching only their second Super League win of the season last week, beating Huddersfield 9-8.

Leeds, meanwhile, return to action for the first time in over four weeks after being forced to postpone two matches due to those positive COVID cases. Their last outing saw them run 11 tries past Castleford at the Mend-A-Hose Jungle to win 60-6.

Salford Red Devils

Salford make five changes, with Matty Costello (shoulder) and Danny Addy (knee) back in contention after injury, while Tui Lolohea and Darcy Lussick also return, the latter having been on loan at Featherstone, as does Pauli Pauli, who could back up after representing the Combined Nations All-Stars in Friday’s international. Sebastine Ikahihifo, Greg Burke, Dan Sarginson, James Greenwood and Ben Davies drop out, while Kallum Watkins (knee), Kevin Brown (lower limb), Krisnan Inu (suspended) and Ata Hingano remain unavailable.

21-man squad: 1 Morgan Escare, 2 Ken Sio, 5 Joe Burgess, 6 Tui Lolohea, 8 Lee Mossop, 9 Andy Ackers, 11 Ryan Lannon, 12 Pauli Pauli, 13 Elijah Taylor, 14 Danny Addy, 15 Oliver Roberts, 17 Josh Johnson, 18 Chris Atkin, 20 Harvey Livett, 22 Rhys Williams, 24 Matty Costello, 25 Jack Ormondroyd, 26 Jack Wells, 27 Sam Luckley, 28 Darcy Lussick, 29 Dec Patton.

Leeds Rhinos

Young prop Tom Holroyd is set for his first appearance of 2021 after recovering from a leg fracture suffered in pre-season. He is one of two changes made by Richard Agar, with Corey Hall also recalled in place of Liam Sutcliffe and Zane Tetevano, who are both completing return to play protocols. All five players involved in Friday’s international – Luke Gale, Ash Handley, Mikolaj Oledzki, Matt Prior and Kruise Leeming – are included, with Alex Sutcliffe (knee), Cameron Smith (hamstring), Jack Walker (foot), Harry Newman (leg), Rob Lui (quad) and Callum McLelland (groin) still unavailable.

21-man squad: 2 Tom Briscoe, 4 Konrad Hurrell, 5 Ash Handley, 7 Luke Gale, 8 Mikolaj Oledzki, 9 Kruise Leeming, 10 Matt Prior, 11 Alex Mellor, 12 Rhyse Martin, 14 Brad Dwyer, 16 Richie Myler, 18 Tom Holroyd, 19 King Vuniyayawa, 20 Bodene Thompson, 22 Sam Walters, 24 Luke Briscoe, 25 James Donaldson, 26 Jarrod O’Connor, 27 Jack Broadbent, 28 Corey Hall, 31 Morgan Gannon.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Must See

More in Super League