Connect with us

Rugby League News

Ryan Hall takes no.5 and Michael McIlorum no.9 as England confirm squad numbers for the World Cup

England have released their squad numbers for the Rugby League World Cup ahead of announcing their squad tomorrow for the opening game against Samoa at St James’ Park on Saturday.

Whilst Australia chose to go in a different direction with their numbering for, England have numbered the squad by position and given us our greatest insight yet as to what Shaun Wane condsiders to be his strongest 17.

Captain Sam Tomkins take the no.1 jersey, while Tommy Makinson (2) and Ryan Hall (5) are favoured over Dominic Young, despite Young impressing in the victory over Fiji.

Kallum Watkins is number three, with Herbie Farnworth at four. Jack Welsby (6) and George Williams (7) take the starting numbers in the halves, while number nine has been given to Michael McIlorum, who Wane knows from his time at Wigan. Fellow hooker Andy Ackers takes 19.

Tom Burgess (8) and Luke Thompson (10) are given the starting numbers in the front row, with Elliott Whitehead (11) and John Bateman (12) the starting back-rowers.

Sydney Roosters’ Victor Radley is at 13, which pushes St Helens’ loose forward Morgan Knowles out to number 15.

England World Cup squad numbers:

1. Sam Tomkins
2. Tommy Makinson
3. Kallum Watkins
4. Herbie Farnworth
5. Ryan Hall
6. Jack Welsby
7. Geroge Williams
8. Tom Burgess
9. Michael McIlorum
10. Luke Thompson
11. Elliott Whitehead
12. John Bateman
13. Victor Radley
14. Dom Young
15. Morgan Knowles
16. Matty Lees
17. Mike Cooper
18. Chris Hill
19. Andy Ackers
20. Mike McMeeken
21. Marc Sneyd
22. Joe Batchelor
23. Mikolaj Oledzki
24. Kai Pearce-Paul

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Must See

More in Rugby League News