Rohan Smith confirms star player will feature against Wakefield

Leeds Rhinos are coming off the back of a huge win over St Helens and they return to Headingley this week to host Wakefield Trinity.

Rohan Smith’s men edged out the World Champions 25-24 last week courtesy of a last minute Blake Austin drop goal and they’ll go again this week against the winless Wakefield Trinity.

Despite the feisty affair that was last Friday’s clash at the Totally Wicked Stadium no Rhinos players were banned and therefore Rohan Smith had a full compliment of players to select from, barring injuries.

Some of the long-term injuries that still trouble Smith’s selection are the likes of Mikolaj Oledzki and new signing Luke Hooley.

For Friday night’s game Smith has named his 21-man squad and it features the return of centre Harry Newman and James Bentley.

Three returning players include Newman, Irish international James Bentley and hooker Corey Johnson.

Johnson replaces the injured Kruise Leeming who suffered a foot injury against St Helens, whilst Morgan Gannon still remains unavailable following concussion protocol that he underwent after the Hull FC game.

Sam Lisone is another to return following his admission from last week’s squad with illness.

Rohan Smith has confirmed that Harry Newman will play on Friday. He said today:

“Harry will feature on Friday. He is really excited. He will just be another of the 17, it is not about Harry but it is good to have him back.”

In terms of whether it was expected, he said: “Pretty much bang on. It was a bit difficult, his injury with the time frame means it can be a bit up and down.”

According to Smith, Newman is at present relaxed about his return: “He was very measured and calculated session, which is good to see. Maybe by game day we will have to calm him down, we’ll see.”

The squad in full is:

1 Richie Myler sponsored by Y F Furniture

2 David Fusitu’a sponsored by Berrys

3 Harry Newman sponsored by Warners Fish Merchants

4 Nene MacDonald sponsored by Fenton Finance

5 Ash Handley sponsored by Roxy Ball Room

6 Blake Austin sponsored by AXIS

7 Aiden Sezer sponsored by Vale Services

10 Zane Tetevano sponsored by NIC FM Services Group

11 James Bentley sponsored by Trivent Ltd

12 Rhyse Martin sponsored by Mailway Packaging Solutions

13 Cameron Smith sponsored by Warners Fish Merchants

14 Jarrod O’Connor sponsored by Boardrm

15 Sam Lisone sponsored by K-Bins

16 Derrell Olpherts sponsored by Horbury Dental Laboratories

18 Tom Holroyd sponsored by West Riding Paper Services

19 James McDonnell sponsored by Wetherby Whaler

22 Sam Walters sponsored by Warners Fish Merchants

24 Luis Roberts sponsored by Wetherby Whaler

25 James Donaldson sponsored by ACS

26 Corey Johnson sponsored by Heaton Wilson Roofing

31 Leon Ruan sponsored by Moortown

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments