RLWC2021 reveal Player Working Group

Rugby League World Cup has revealed its Player Working Group (PWG) and Technical Working Group (TWG), which includes world class stars of past and present such as Dallin Watene-Zelezniak, Sean O’Loughlin and Kevin Naiqama.

The two groups will work together alongside organisers ahead of the tournament, giving professional input into key technical considerations to help support and deliver the biggest World Cup in history.

They will also offer advice on issues including on-field matters, team logistics and player welfare, as well as playing a role in the commercial revenue and PR strategies.

The PWG will comprise of Adam Cuthbertson (England Women Assistant Coach), Amy Hardcastle (England Women), Dallin Watene-Zelezniak (New Zealand), Garreth Carvell (UK RL Players Association), Joe Brown (Jamaica), Joe Coyd (England Wheelchair), Kevin Naiqama (Fiji), Larissa Lima (Brazil Women), Liam Moore (Referee), Lina Caccamo (Australia RL Players Association), Mandy Marchak (Canada Women), Sean O’Loughlin (Ex-England), Stuart Williams (Wales Wheelchair), Corban McGregor (Australia Women) and Tyrone McCarthy (Ireland).

The TWG includes Alana Sargent (Head of Wales’ Wheelchair RL Match Officials), Dean Thomas (Former Gateshead Thunder coach and Hemel Stags CEO), Jamahl Lolesi (Former St Helens and Huddersfield Giants Assistant Coach), Jeremy Hickmans (Former High Performance Manager at Brisbane Broncos and Performance Consultant at South Sydney Rabbitohs), Martin Coyd (England Wheelchair General Manager), Julian King (Referee), Kylie Leuluai (Warrington Wolves Head of Operations), Dr Nick Raynor (Castleford Tigers Head Doctor), Steve McCormack (Rugby League Cares’ Head of Welfare), Jo Richards (British Wheelchair Basketball) and Laurence Shenker (British Wheelchair Basketball).

Both groups will meet on a quarterly basis and be chaired by the RLWC2021 Tournament Director, Dean Hardman and supported by key RLWC2021 staff.

The meetings will also offer advice and guidance in relation to on-field matters, team logistics, player welfare and consider the input from and support each Group as well as playing a role in the commercial revenue and PR strategies.

The groups will meet on a quarterly basis and be chaired by RLWC2021 Tournament Director Dean Hardman and supported by key RLWC2021 staff.

Hardman said: “There is no one better than the players to understand and advise us on key aspects of the tournament not only from a playing technical perspective but also policies, commercial and PR strategies.

“They have already started to have a crucial impact with their valuable input, and we are proud to put them at the centre of our planning and to show that we are actively listening to our participants. We are grateful to all members of the PWG and TWG for giving up their valuable time to support us in this way”

Ireland International Tyrone McCarthy added: “It’s fantastic for players to be given a voice as we can give a unique insight to the organisers about all aspects of the tournament, from where things could be improved but also components that worked really well previously.

“This feedback will hopefully help create an enhanced experience for all involved including our volunteers and spectators.”

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments