Connect with us

Super League

Richard Agar names strong Leeds Rhinos squad for Hull FC clash including debutant

Tomorrow sees Leeds Rhinos take on Hull FC in Tom Briscoe’s testimonial clash.

It’s been 14 years since Briscoe made his professional debut for the Black and Whites, and in those years since he’s delivered plenty of amazing moments to both Hull and Leeds fans.

Whether it was his trysaver on Peter Fox in 2010, his spectacular finish in the play-offs against Huddersfield in 2012, his hat-trick on debut for Leeds, the five tries he scored at Wembley in 2015 or the brace that helped Leeds to Grand Final glory in 2017, both sets of supporters owe a lot to the winger now turned centre.

It should be a spectacle for all to see and will shed some light on where both sides are currently at as they prepare for the new campaign.

With a view to understanding where his squad is at going into the new season, Richard Agar has named a very strong 22.

For the first time in over three years, Leeds have been able to name a squad with squad numbers 1-17 included with Jack Walker and Liam Sutcliffe set to make their second appearances after long term injuries. Both featured against Bradford last week.

Speaking of the Bulls, Jarrod O’Connor is included after a brilliant showing at Odsal last week. This is despite heading to Bradford on loan this year with Muizz Mustapha and Jarrod O’Connor already linking up with John Kear’s squad.

David Fusitu’a is in line to make his Leeds debut after signing from down under. The NRL’s top scorer in 2018 is being tipped for a big year at Headingley. Meanwhile, Matt Prior is also included for the first time in 2022.

He has given up the captain’s armband going into the new season with Kruise Leeming taking on the responsibility. He’s now in line to make his first appearance as Leeds’ official first team captain tomorrow.

Here’s the squad in full:

1 Jack Walker
2 David Fusitu’a
3 Harry Newman
4 Liam Sutcliffe
5 Ash Handley
6 Blake Austin
7 Aidan Sezer
8 Mikolaj Oledzki
9 Kruise Leeming
10 Matt Prior
11 James Bentley
12 Rhyse Martin
13 Zane Tetevano
14 Brad Dwyer
15 Alex Mellor
16 Richie Myler
17 Cameron Smith
19 Bodene Thompson
20 Tom Briscoe
21 Morgan Gannon
24 Jarrod O’Connor
25 James Donaldson

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Must See

More in Super League