Connect with us

Super League

RFL pays tribute to the rugby league legends we lost in 2022

It is a new year.

It is easy to get excited about what the new year could hold, especially for rugby league as a new Super League season waits around the corner.

Equally, it is easy to get excited about what happened in the year that was especially in a year that included four Rugby League World Cups two of which were won by England in the shape of the Wheelchair World Cup and the PDRL World Cup.

Meanwhile, 2022 also saw St Helens make history as they defeated Leeds Rhinos to claim a fourth consecutive title.

However, like any year we lost so many legends of our sport in 2022 and the RFL have remembered all 37 as well as Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II who was a former patron of rugby league.

As the new year begins, let’s remember them:

Adam Walker
Arnold Walker
Asuquo Ema
Bill Ashurst
Bobby Wanbon
Biran Hogan
Colin Cooper
Danny Sheehan
Dave Hadfield
Dave Robinson
David Stephenson
Des Drumond
Gary McMahon
Glyn Shaw
Harry Beverley
Harry Gartion
Jack Kirmond
Jackie Melling
Joe Coan
Johnny Raper
Johnny Whiteley
Kenny Foulkes
Kevin Beardmore
Leon Williamson
Les Dyl
Maurice Lindsay
Mel James
Mick Crane
Norman Francis
Norman Herbert
Olsen Filipaina
Phil Jackson
Ricky Bibey
Tiziano Franchino
Tommy Vose
Tony Johnson
Va’aiga Tuigamala

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Must See

More in Super League