Connect with us

Rugby League News

Return of club legend for Championship squad as 2023 shirt numbers revealed

Sheffield Eagles have become the most recent side to announce their squad numbers for 2023 with the Championship side set to face Hull FC in a historic triple-header on Sunday.

That triple-header will see Sheffield’s wheelchair, women’s and men’s teams all play on the same day with a ticket getting fans access to all three events.

The Eagles placed eighth in the Championship last season but with so many sides adding quality players it’s set to be even more competitive this year.

Even Bradford Bulls, who finished one place below the Eagles in 2022, have added the likes of Michael Lawrence, Jack Walker and have also been able to swoop in for Sheffield’s half-back Tom Holmes.

The re-signing of club legend Quentin Laulu-Togaga’e from League One champions, Keighley Cougars, is a welcome addition and the 38-year-old full-back who has been capped by Samoa and played over 200 games for the Eagles will wear 29.

He’s clearly going to be a key member of the leadership team and in charge of boosting morale in the squad, as highlighted by his reactions during the squad number unveiling, something that the Eagles posted to their Twitter.

No new signings have been given a shirt number in the typical starting numbers, one to thirteen, but Titus Gwaze (14), Aaron Murphy (18), Jack Hansen (19), Lewis Peachey (20), Oliver Roberts (24), Joe Hird (25), Jesse Sene-Lefao (27), Matty Dawson-Jones (28), Mekhi Bridgeman-Reaney (30) and Cory Aston (32) signify a huge crop of players having joined the Eagles.

Former Super League star Ben Jones-Bishop will be hoping to dominate for the Eagles as the team’s standout try-scorer.

The club also teased that their leadership group will be announced at 9pm with the likes of Laulo-Togaga’e, BJB and also veteran centre Kris Welham sure to be involved.

Club captain Anthony Thackeray remains in the squad but which players will surround him and if he retains his role will be seen at 9pm.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Must See

More in Rugby League News