Connect with us

League 1

Potential Leeds Rhinos signing in line for award as is Huddersfield Giants youngster and former Wigan Warriors man as Keighley Cougars lead the way in Betfred League 1 awards,

The nominees for the Betfred League 1 awards have been revealed tonight.

Unsurprisingly, Keighley Cougars dominate the nominations after finishing top of the league and securing a place in the Betfred Championship next year leaving other clubs to battle it out in the play-offs for the other Championship spot after the relegation of Workington and Dewsbury.

Keighley have two nominees for Player of the Year in Mo Agoro and Jack Miller whilst their coach Rhys Lovegrove is unsurprisingly a nominee for the Coach of the Year alongside London Skolars’ Joe Mbu and North Wales Crusaders’ Anthony Murray.

The Crusaders also have a nominee for Player of the Year in Gavin Rodden.

Interestingly, neither Keighley nor Crusaders have players nominated for the Young Player of the Year.

Instead Rochdale’s Cian Tyrer, Doncaster’s Leon Ruan and Swinton Lions’ George Roby.

Roby, like his namesake, is a hooker and will hope to achieve half as much as James Roby in Super League. Belonging to the Huddersfield Giants and spending a successful year on loan at Swinton, young Roby will be hoping to make a splash in the years to come at the Giants as Ian Watson develops his squad with many young players like Olly Russell getting a crack at first team action.

Roby may be the long term option at nine and will learn plenty off Danny Levi and Adam O’Brien.

Meanwhile, Leon Ruan is expected to join Leeds Rhinos in 2023 and has spent the last few months training with the Rhinos on trial.

He’ll follow another lower league signing to the Rhinos in James McDonnell as well as York youngster Toby Warren both of whom are also forwards.

So, seeing Cian Tyrer amongst these two highly thought of future Super League players shows his amazing potential too and is formerly of the Wigan Warriors

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in League 1