NRLW season given go ahead

The 2020 NRLW season will commence in September, the NRL have confirmed.

The four-team competition is into its third season but, following the Covid-19 suspension, there were fears as to whether or not it would be scrapped from the 2020 calendar.

It will now go ahead in the Autumn, however, with Brisbane Broncos, St George Illawarra Dragons, Sydney Roosters and New Zealand Warriors set to play each other once over a four-week period running alongside the NRL finals, before the Grand Final on October 25.

In a statement, ARLC chairman Peter V’landys said: “The women’s game is a very important element of rugby league.

“We are very proud of our achievements in the women’s game and we should be providing it the significance it deserves.”

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments