Connect with us


NRL All Stars teams named – Latrell Mitchell to play fullback

New South Sydney Rabbitohs recruit Latrell Mitchell is set to play at fullback for the Indigenous side after being named in the squad alongside stars, Cody Walker, Tyrone Peachey, Josh Addo-Carr, Jack Wighton and Wade Graham.

Despite an extended break and a late start to the NRL pre-season, Indigenous All Stars coach Laurie Daly is hoping to get a full 80 minutes out of the former Roosters star.

Whilst announcing his 20-man squad, Daly told “fitness wise, I’m hoping he’ll be up to speed and hopefully he can play there for the 80 minutes, but I’d say that he won’t be there for the whole 80 minutes.”

Since Mitchell switched between the two Sydney clubs, he has set out to transform himself from a centre, to a full-time fullback and the All Stars game will be his first outing as an NRL No.1 in 2020.

Mitchell’s opposite number on the night will be Queensland star, Kalyn Ponga. Fans will be eager to see how the 22-year-old will fair against one of the best and most electrifying fullbacks in the game.

The Maori side also includes Dylan Walker, Nelson Asofa-Solomona, Jesse Bromwich, Kenny Bromwich and Dallin Watene-Zelezniak.

The only two NRL teams who will not be represented at the game next month are the Sydney Roosters and Wests Tigers, with the Roosters playing in the World Club Challenge against Super League Champions, St Helens, on the same night.

Taking place on February 22nd at the CBUS Super Stadium, the All Stars match will be shown live in both Australia and the UK.

Indigenous All Stars:

Josh Curran, Josh Addo-Carr, Adam Elliott, Blake Ferguson, Andrew Fifita, David Fifita, Wade Graham, Ryan James, Josh Kerr, Alex Johnston, Latrell Mitchell, Tyrone Peachey, Nathan Peats, Jesse Ramien, James Roberts, Tyrone Roberts, Joel Thompson, Cody Walker, Connor Watson, Jack Wighton

Maori All Stars:

Nelson Asofa-Solomona, Adam Blair, Jesse Bromwich, Kenneath Bromwich, Corey Harawira-Naera, Jahrome Hughes, Isaac Luke, Esan Marsters, Briton Nikora, Kodi Nikorima, Kalyn Ponga, Kevin Proctor, Bailey Simonsson, Brandon Smith, Brad Taikairangi, James Tamou, Zane Tetevano, Dylan Walker, Dallin Watene-Zelezniak, Malakai Watene-Zelezniak

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Must See

More in NRL