Connect with us


Newcastle announce squad numbers

Newcastle Thunder have announced their squad numbers ahead of the 2021 Championship season.

The Thunder have added 14 new names to their squad, with a mixture of youth and experience among their ranks in 2021.

New signings Jack Johnson and Calum Turner take two and five respectively. There is also a new halfback pairing in Jake Shorrocks and Josh Woods, who take six and seven.

Experienced forward Ukuma Ta’ai takes the number 11 shirt after signing from Hudddersfield Giants.

A third former Wigan youngster Nathan Wilde takes the number eight. Sam Wilde also takes the 12. He joins former Widnes teammates Ted Chapelhow, Jay Chapelhow and Johnson at the club. All four were due to sign for Ottawa Aces.

Ted Chapelhow takes 15 while twin brother Jay takes 16. Wakefield youngster Connor Bailey takes the 17 after signing on a season-long loan. Their other loanee; Warrington Wolves forward Samy Kibula takes 22.

Former Bradford Bulls youngster Evan Hodgson takes 19, while another Warrington academy graduate Cole Oakley takes 20.

Finally, former Wigan utility back Cian Tyrer takes 28.

Newcastle Thunder 2021 Squad: 1 Lewis Young, 2 Jack Johnson, 3 Matty Wright, 4 Kieran Gill, 5 Calum Turner, 6 Jake Shorrocks, 7 Josh Woods, 8 Nathan Wilde, 9 Bob Beswick, 10 Mikey Wood, 11 Ukuma Ta’ai, 12 Sam Wilde, 13 Liam McAvoy, 14 Evan Simons, 15 Ted Chapelhow, 16 Jay Chapelhow, 17 Connor Bailey, 18 Alex Clegg, 19 Evan Hodgson, 20 Cole Oakley, 21 Reece Dean, 22 Samy Kibula, 23 Joe Brown, 24 Rhys Clarke, 25 Ollie Gowing, 26 Kieran Hudson, 27 Alex Donaghy, 28 Cian Tyrer.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Must See

More in Championship