Connect with us

Rugby League News

New Super League signing finally given squad number after being pictured in training

Wakefield Trinity have finally announced the squad number of new signing Samisoni Langi who has joined from Super League rivals Catalans Dragons.

Trinity have been revealing numbers in advent calendar fashion with each day leading to the announcement of that number shirt and for the first 16 days of the month not a single new signing received a shirt number.

One of the biggest omissions was new signing Langi not receiving number four however he has since being announced as their number 21 for the upcoming 2023 season.

He will join Renouf Atoni, Kevin Proctor and Morgan Smith who have all joined Trin and are numbered 17, 19 and 20 respectively.

Langi has joined from Catalans and is expected to be a starter which is why his omission from the number four jersey was a surprise but he’s finally got his number now and could be set for a debut on Boxing Day against Leeds Rhinos.

The centre was pictured in training just this week as Wakefield took on rivals Castleford in a mixed training session.

In the traditional centre numbers ahead of Langi youngster Corey Hall and veteran Reece Lyne who’s in a testimonial year donned three and four respectively, whilst the traditional back line numbers were filled out by Jorge Taufua, Tom Lineham and Max Jowitt who will wear two, five and one.

Lee Gaskell will occupy the vacated number six and be paired with Mason Lino in the halves whilst the forward pack comprises of Eddie Battye, Liam Hood, Jai Whitbread, Matty Ashurst, Kelepi Tanginoa and Jay Pitts who will all don eight, nine, 10, 11, 12 and 13 respectively.

Newly announced vice captain Jordy Crowther will wear the 14 shirt as well and a full list of confirmed numbers is as below.

Here’s their confirmed squad numbers for 2023:

1 Max Jowitt
2 Jorge Taufua
3 Corey Hall
4 Reece Lyne
5 Tom Lineham
6 Lee Gaskell
7 Mason Lino
8 Eddie Battye
9 Liam Hood
10 Jai Whitbread
11 Matty Ashurst
12 Kelepi Tanginoa
13 Jay Pitts
14 Jordy Crowther
15 Liam Kay
16 Josh Bowden
17 Renouf Atoni
18 Lee Kershaw
19 Kevin Proctor
20 Morgan Smith
21 Samisoni Langi

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Must See

More in Rugby League News