Minichiello named in Italy squad

RFL Player Welfare

Retiring Hull FC back rower Mark Minichiello has been named in Italy’s train-on squad for the upcoming World Cup Qualifiers.

The 37-year-old has made several appearances for the Azzurri since debuting in 2013 and now has the chance to end his illustrious 17-year career with some final international caps.

There is a host of Championship and League 1 talent included, with the likes James Saltonstall (Halifax), Alec Susino, Dean Parata (both Featherstone), Brenden Santi (Toulouse) and Richard Lepori (Swinton) all being named.

New Featherstone signing Dean Parata has been named by Italy.

Super League academy youngsters Joe Fella and Nico Rizzelli, from Castleford and St Helens respectively, could also be in line for a maiden cap.

Also included are brothers Jack and Cooper Johns – sons of former Newcastle Knights and Wigan halfback Matthew and nephews of NRL immortal Andrew.

Italy head coach Leo Epifania said: “FIRL has worked tirelessly post RLWC 2017 with the upcoming qualifiers in mind, hopefully culminating in strong performances during the qualifying matches.

Halifax’s James Saltonstall is also included.

We have put together a healthy squad and done our best to prepare and are confident that we will perform.”

Italy World Cup Qualifiers train-on squad: Luis Lollo (Ambrosiana Tigers), Joey Tramontana, Rhys Sciilitano (Blacktown Workers), Nathan Milone (Cabramatta), Jarrett Subloo (Canberra Raiders), Mason Cerruto (Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs), Simone Boscolo, Michele Olocco, Alberto Berganton (Carina Tigers), Josef Fella (Castleford Tigers), Matthew Bonanno (Central Tigers), Matthew Tedesco (Coogee Dolphins), Ethan Natoli, Josh Natoli (Coogee-Randwick), Lachlan Scarpelli (Cronulla Sharks), Vince Ripepi (East Campbelltown), Samuel Dolores (Eastwood Rugby), Alec Susino, Dean Parata (Featherstone Rovers), Brock Pelligra (Glebe-Burwood), James Saltonstall (Halifax RLFC), Daniel De Vecchis (Hills District Bulls), Mark Minichiello (Hull FC), Giuseppe Pagani, Daniele Not, Mattia Not, Mauro Quarino, Lorenzo Marcuz, Juan Vila, Ippolito Occhialini, Tommaso Nicoli (Lignano Sharks), Rinaldo Palumbo (London Skolars), Cooper Johns (Melbourne Storm), Bandoni Ettore, Bienati Nicolò, Botti Davide, Pirotta Carlo, Signorelli Davide, Lorenzo Leandro, Morosi Fabio, Berton Edoardo, Zappa Giorgio, Coppi Manuel, Mastromauro Davide, Santarelli Alessandro, Caldara Simone, (Milano Mustangs), Ryan King (Mounties), Joshua Carr, Luke Polselli (Newtown Jets), Luke Hodge (North Sydney Bears), Jack Campagnolo (Northern Pride), Emanuele Passera (Parma Cowboys), Alexander Myles (Penrith Panthers), John Trimboli (Penrith Panthers), Santino Battagliolo (Ryde Eastwood Hawks), Lorenzo Grosso, Samuele Audisio, Tallone Filippo, Radosta Gabriele, Gabriele Pattaro, Luca Moressa, (Saluzzo North West Roosters), Marc Zaurrini, Jack Frasca, Jack Johns (South Sydney Rabbitohs), Anton Ilaria (St Marys), Luca Moretti (Sydney Roosters), Richard Lepori (Swinton), Brenden Santi (Toulouse Olympique), Alberto Suin, Mattia Saoncella, Fabio Galetto, Guido Cicogna, Edoardo Paluello (Veneto Black Rabbits), Daniel Petralia, Nicholas Okladnikov (Wentworthville Magpies), Gus Garzaniti, Harrison O’Toole (Wests Magpies), Chris Centrone, Josh Mantellato (Wyong Roos), Gioele Celerino, Chris Vitalini (West Wales Raiders), Gianluca Azzali (XIII del Ducato), Nico Rizzelli (St. Helens), Shann Brugel (Villefranche XIII).