Mal Meninga throws up massive selection question as he names squad for Rugby League World Cup semi-finals

Mal Meninga has named his 19-man squad for this weekend’s Rugby League World Cup semi-final against New Zealand at Leeds United’s Elland Road.

The big story in the Australia side has always centred around the halfbacks with Meninga needing to select his number seven between the experienced Manly Sea Eagles Daly Cherry-Evans and of Penrith Panthers’ star Nathan Cleary who has led the Panthers to two consecutive NRL titles but hasn’t had the success you’d expect him to have in State of Orgin.

We’re no closer to knowing which of them will start in the semi-final with both players included in the 19-man squad.

Hooker Ben Hunt returns to the squad in place of Campbell Gillard in one of the only changes made to the 19-man squad.

The other sees Regan Campbell-Gillard replacing Lindsey Collins as he return from injury to potentially play in this massive game.

James Tedesco will captain the side from fullback whilst Harry Grant now faces a battle with Hunt for the hooker spot.

Latrell Mitchell and Josh Addo-Carr will continue their partnership down the left edge.

9. Josh Addo-Carr
6. Reagan Campbell-Gillard
13. Patrick Carrigan
2. Daly Cherry-Evans
14. Nathan Cleary
16. Reuben Cotter
17. Angus Crichton
18. Tino Fa’asuamaleaui
20. Harry Grant
4. Valentine Holmes
3. Ben Hunt
21. Liam Martin
8. Latrell Mitchell
7. Cameron Munster
11. Cameron Murray (vc)
1. James Tedesco (capt.)
5. Jake Trbojevic
10. Jack Wighton
24. Isaah Yeo (vc)

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments