Mal Meninga throws selection curve ball for quarter-final as one man surprisingly left out

Mal Meninga has named his squad for Australia’s quarter-final clash with Lebanon this Friday.

The Kangaroos battle with the Cedars on Friday night with the game kicking off at 19:30 at Huddersfield Giants’ John Smith’s Stadium.

TV coverage starts at 19:05 on BBC Three and is an intriguing test for the Australians.

Meninga has kept his cards close to his chest however shedding no light on the halfback situation going into the game with all three halfbacks – Cameron Munster, Daly Cherry-Evans and Nathan Cleary – named in the squad.

It’s possible all three could play too with talk of Cherry-Evans starting on the bench for Australia.

It’s intriguing that halfbacks should dominate the Australian team selection as the Aussies come up against a halfback overlooked by Meninga in the shape of Mitchell Moses who will lead Lebanon in this quarter-final clash.

Meninga will be without forward Reegen Campbell-Gillard misses out through injury. Meanwhile, Cowboys duo Murray Taulagi and Jeremiah Nanai have been left out of alongside Matt Burton and Ben Hunt.

Hunt’s absence is a bit of a surprise and hints at the possible inclusion of Cherry-Evans on the bench with Harry Grant at nine.

9. Josh Addo-Carr
13. Patrick Carrigan
2. Daly Cherry-Evans
14. Nathan Cleary
15. Lindsay Collins
16. Reuben Cotter
17. Angus Crichton
18. Tino Fa’asuamaleaui
19. Campbell Graham
20. Harry Grant
4. Valentine Holmes
21. Liam Martin
8. Latrell Mitchell
7. Cameron Munster
11. Cameron Murray (vc)
1. James Tedesco (capt.)
5. Jake Trbojevic
10. Jack Wighton
24. Isaah Yeo (vc)

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments