Mal Meninga names star-studded squad for Rugby League World Cup Final and again is left with big decision

Australia boss and former St Helens player Mal Meninga has named his 19-man squad for the Rugby League World Cup Final against Samoa on Saturday.

Meninga still has some big calls to make with Daly Cherry-Evans brought into the squad again after being left out of the 17 last week in favour of Nathan Cleary.

Could Cherry-Evans take the halfback spot for the final? It seems unlikely especially with Cleary being able to offer up insight into the Penrith Panthers players who at the core of Samoa’s star studded side.

There is no change to the squad at all from the semi-final. Ben Hunt features and is likely to start at nine once more keeping Harry Grant on the bench.

If Meninga keeps the same 17 as last week this will match winner Cameron Murray start on the bench once more.

James Tedesco and Cameron Munster are nailed on as are wing-centre partnership Josh Addo-Carr and Latrell Mitchell.

Whoever Meninga names the Kangaroos will be favourites but will have a tough test ahead of them in a final against a top notch Samoa side full of just as many NRL superstars as Australia.

Afterall we are set to see Cleary and mate Jarome Luai battle.

9. Josh Addo-Carr
6. Reagan Campbell-Gillard
13. Patrick Carrigan
2. Daly Cherry-Evans
14. Nathan Cleary
16. Reuben Cotter
17. Angus Crichton
18. Tino Fa’asuamaleaui
20. Harry Grant
4. Valentine Holmes
3. Ben Hunt
21. Liam Martin
8. Latrell Mitchell
7. Cameron Munster
11. Cameron Murray (vc)
1. James Tedesco (capt.)
5. Jake Trbojevic
10. Jack Wighton
24. Isaah Yeo (vc)

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments